Shaker 500 Upgrade Questions

Discussion in '2010 - 2014 Specific Tech' started by Drew87jr, Aug 5, 2012.


  1. Drew87jr

    Drew87jr New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2012
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hey guys, I'm new here. I primarily wanted to get on board because I want to learn some stuff and frankly, I'm sick of the friends to claim they know stuff and really don't. I've got a fully loaded (stock factory upgrades) 2011 black Mustang V6 with what I assume fromis the Shacker 500 system (the 1000 was only for GT's from my understanding). I want to get some real sound and bass going but I don't know if the 500 is enough watts and if not should I go with a new head unit (and deal with all the connections in the car) or if I'm set with a sub and amp that puts out 500 watts. I was looking into a kenwood package and the subs are 2-12". Please let me know any advice or direction you pro's may have for a new guy. I used to have a 2001 mustang and I remember the upgraded system sucked for after market add on's and I'mhoping it's not the case here. Thanks guys!
    #1
  2. Niterydr85

    Niterydr85 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2005
    Messages:
    175
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Pasadena, Maryland
    As far as I know, Ford did away with the 500 and 1000 designations. They either have the Shaker or the Shaker Pro.
    #2
  3. godfather55v

    godfather55v Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2006
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    dyersville, ia
    my 07 gt had the 500 and i just tossed a sub and amp in trunk, grabbed signal from behind the head unit and was good to go! The only thing i didn't like is i had to turn the volume of the sub up and down separate from the deck volume, but i had the same issue w/ my shaker 1000 i had in my 02 gt.
    #3
  4. Drew87jr

    Drew87jr New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2012
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Yeah, it's probable the regular shaker than, but thanks. Anyone know the watts on the head unit? Opinions on going with a Kenwood 500 amp and 2 12" subs? I've heard switch to 1-10" and also to change out the head unit to go to 1000 watts so I'm trying to find the best way to get some bang without worry of losing options the head unit is controlling in the car.
    #4
  5. TheRampant

    TheRampant New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2012
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    NC
    Seriously? I have the 500 and it gets plenty loud, and I'm a pretty young guy (30). WTF are you trying to make this thing do??
    #5
  6. lancealot829

    lancealot829 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2011
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    13
    Location:
    Belton
    On the subject of amps and subs, go with Alpine if you can. Great quality for the money. Kenwoods tend to be less reliable.
    #6
  7. Jack Forrest

    Jack Forrest New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2012
    Messages:
    15
    Showcase:
    1
    Albums:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    2
    Location:
    Carbondale, Colorado
    Keep on playing the loud music and you'll be deaf by the time you're forty. Do you also drive down neighborhood streets with your windows open and the sound turned way up?
    #7
  8. CCS86

    CCS86 New Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2012
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    3


    Keep on driving around in your convertible like a woman. Do you also use tampons too?


    See how that feels? Stop being a dick.
    #8
    Jonesy29 and J-bone like this.
  9. harborvu

    harborvu New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2013
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I did not upgrade my Shaker system when ordering the car, because I thought 500 watts was plenty. The system does indeed put out plenty of volume (for me), but I don't know whether I actually believe it is putting out a true 500 watts, or maybe the speakers are just inefficient? My home retro stereo system has a Pioneer SX-1980 at heart, putting out 270 clean watts per channel, and it is MUCH louder than the Shaker system... but then again, the home speakers are more efficient, too.
    #9
  10. OracleHCR

    OracleHCR Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2012
    Messages:
    105
    Likes Received:
    11
    Trophy Points:
    29
    Location:
    Crestview, Fl
    Upgrade the speakers and the Shaker system sounds fine. The speakers they put in the door are complete sh*t.
    #10
  11. earleys94gt

    earleys94gt Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2003
    Messages:
    1,216
    Likes Received:
    16
    Trophy Points:
    49
    Location:
    Ashley, Ohio
    The "speakers" making noise are those mufflers behind the rear bumper:D
    #11
  12. Sparty92

    Sparty92 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2007
    Messages:
    432
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    19
    Location:
    Detroit Burbs
    Ok, I'm going to jump into this thread with a similar, yet different request.

    I have the Shaker 500 in my '11 GT, and as it was in my '07 GT, it kinda blows. I'm happy with the stock look and volume, but the quality of the sound is rather horrible. My '95 GT with the Mach 460 radio sounded WAY more dynamic, and that's what I want. Complete dynamic range, not just muddy bass.

    A. Can I just replace all of the speakers and get a good range of sound?
    B. If "yes," what do you guys recommend?
    #12
  13. OracleHCR

    OracleHCR Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2012
    Messages:
    105
    Likes Received:
    11
    Trophy Points:
    29
    Location:
    Crestview, Fl
    The stock speakers are amazingly cheap and replacing them makes a world of difference. Most guys I've talked to just change out the door speakers and have been satisfied with the sound improvement. They are really easy to replace too.
    The 2 speakers on the rear deck are a pain to get to and you'd be better off getting a professional to do them just to save you the headache. That is if you decide to replace them at all.
    #13

Share This Page