Should I being going faster

Bonzo

Aug 22, 2003
Wales
This year I took my 67 Coupe to the track.
It is a 289 with C4 3 speed Auto with the following mods.

Petronix Ignition
Flame Throer Coil
Road Demon 625 cfm
K&N X Stream Air Filter
Intake Manifold Power Plus
Cam Chet Herbert Hydraulic Cam RPM Range 1200-6000 - Advertised Duration 275/285 - Duration @.050:215/225 - Lift .475/.500 - Lobe Center; 112c
Cloydes True Rollers (Rhoades Lifters)
New conrod Bearings
Main Bearings
Headers
Re Cored Radiator
Quick Shift
Traction Bars
Front Sway Bar 1 1/4"

My best time has been:-
Run8
Tree 0.400
Reaction 0.918
60 2.719
330 7.354
MPH1 67.06
660 11.033
990 14.095
MPH2 85.2
ET1320 16.825

Manual shifting the Auto around 5,000 rpm

Should I run faster on the 1/4 mile. Whilst I am a novice from the reading on the forum I feel I should go quicker than I have been.

It would be useful to know if the car is capable of more and I should practice my technique or add more go faster bits.

Any advise greatly received.

Tony
:bang:

• Sponsors (?)

I think you should be running faster then 16.8 in the 1/4..Your 60 foot time is pretty high. You want that down around 2.1 or faster on street tires. If you mention what your launch technique is, when/if your wheel spin occurs, gearing, trap speed is, it would be easier to guess whats going on.

This year I took my 67 Coupe to the track.
It is a 289 with C4 3 speed Auto with the following mods.

Petronix Ignition
Flame Throer Coil
Road Demon 625 cfm
K&N X Stream Air Filter
Intake Manifold Power Plus
Cam Chet Herbert Hydraulic Cam RPM Range 1200-6000 - Advertised Duration 275/285 - Duration @.050:215/225 - Lift .475/.500 - Lobe Center; 112c
Cloydes True Rollers (Rhoades Lifters)
New conrod Bearings
Main Bearings
Headers
Re Cored Radiator
Quick Shift
Traction Bars
Front Sway Bar 1 1/4"

My best time has been:-
Run8
Tree 0.400
Reaction 0.918
60 2.719
330 7.354
MPH1 67.06
660 11.033
990 14.095
MPH2 85.2
ET1320 16.825