Stock 302 heads on 351 Windsor block?

TweekedGT

Jul 22, 2004
Alberta
Ok this is going to be a very stupid question but will my stock 302 heads and intake fit onto a 351 stroked out to a 408 block? I am assuming yes but want to make sure. Had plans for a bigblock swap but some ****s happened and can't do it. I don't want to go hacking up the Fox if I can get the power i want by going 351 stroker instead and keeping the EFI and EECIV. Will the EECIV work with a 351 as well? I'm a noob to pushrods, sorry about the dumb questions guys. Thanks.

• Sponsors (?)

Most 302 aftermarket heads are drilled for 1/2" holes if I recall.

If not, drilling out will work fine:)

You are correct...just about every set i've dealt with were 1/2 inch holes.

I would think you'd be better off just using stock 351W heads than stock 302 heads, especially on a stroked 351 since you'll have slightly bigger intake valves.

You are correct...just about every set i've dealt with were 1/2 inch holes.

I would think you'd be better off just using stock 351W heads than stock 302 heads, especially on a stroked 351 since you'll have slightly bigger intake valves.

+1 those heads are WAY too small..i have ported GT40 heads on my 351 and people are telling me they're choking the engine, which i wouldent doubt but it's all my budget will allow...i hear good things about the older 351w heads(69-74?)

+1 those heads are WAY too small..i have ported GT40 heads on my 351 and people are telling me they're choking the engine, which i wouldent doubt but it's all my budget will allow...i hear good things about the older 351w heads(69-74?)

It all depends on who you ask....the '93 Lightning had good old GT40 heads on its 351W...your ported GT40s are probably better than any other stock/unported 351W head.