Supercharging stock?

Vengilyx

Mar 2, 2004
This may seem like a newbie question...but im just getting into this stuff so bear with me =) What kind of damage if any would it cause to drop a starter blower system into a stock engine? I mean everything stock, and if it is a no-no what do you want to replace in order to run it correctly, from what I gather, putting in 3.55 gears is popular with forced induction, and I would beef up the frame and all, subframes, strut tower braces, G-load brace, all that happy crappy, thanks a lot in advance for your time.

P.S. if supercharging stock is ok whats a good amount of boost to run, and can someone point me in the direction of some good starter systems?

• Sponsors (?)

As long as you got good compression and the longblock is healthy I wouldn't see it being a problem. The basic 5-6psi SC's are designed for stock applications. But you'd have to upgrade the fuel system, that's for sure. Bigger injectors, bigger fuel pump like a 190lph unit. A free flowing exhaust would help too(headers, H/X pipe, cat-back). Gears it all depends on the trans. I'm assuming you meant 3.55's for a T-5 which doesn't sound bad but I'm pretty sure some guys even run 3.73's. That's all the basic I can tell you for now since I'm not all that familiar with the details.

I bought my 92 LX bone stock (except for K&N) with 98,000 miles on it last year. Had it for a week, then put on a vortech v2 sq s-trim kit. Most of the blower manufacturers say their kits are for stock engines.

I've seen 8-9 pounds of boost with my setup. Everything is tuned to safe levels. Timing is 10* with the MSD boost retard set at 1-1.5. I feel very safe about the blower on my car. Go for it, you won't regret it a moment (except maybe when you pay for it! :D

Of course, like me, you'll get bitten by the bug to add more. Read this forum regularly. A lot of guys/gals know their stuff, it's a great place.

Alan