T45 synchros. Questions here.

I'm done collecting parts for my T45 swap project and the transmission that I have needs new synchros before it goes in. The guy that's reuilding it for me said that he can get new ones for a little under $200.

Is this too much to pay for them? I have no knowledge of manual transmission stuff so I'm not sure if I'm getting ripped or not. If you guys know of anywhere I can get them cheaper (if this guy is asking too much) please let me know. I have to give him the go-ahead to order them on monday if I want the transmission done before next weekend.

Thanks guys!

• Sponsors (?)

FastRedPonyCar said:
I'm done collecting parts for my T45 swap project and the transmission that I have needs new synchros before it goes in. The guy that's reuilding it for me said that he can get new ones for a little under $200.

Is this too much to pay for them? I have no knowledge of manual transmission stuff so I'm not sure if I'm getting ripped or not. If you guys know of anywhere I can get them cheaper (if this guy is asking too much) please let me know. I have to give him the go-ahead to order them on monday if I want the transmission done before next weekend.

Thanks guys!

$200 for a rebuild kit is a lot less than most people think. So you're fine. Those 3650 guys (including me) have to pay $1100 just for the revised parts for the 1-2notchyness and 2-3 grind. And that's not a rebuild it's just certain parts. How much is he charging you to rebuild labor?

Ask him what parts exactly he is getting for $200.

The synchro blocker rings are cheap, maybe $20 each and there are 5 of them

Everything else synchro related is a hard part (major trans component) and about $80-90 each.

Most trans rebuild kits are in the $100-200 range. These include not only the synchro blocker rings, but also bearings, shims, misc springs and other replacable wear items.