Tach Installation Tutorial

stangkid88

Nov 11, 2005
Seattle area
I recently installed an Autometer tachometer in my car, thanks to the help of 66Runt and 19Stang66. I am a complete newb to electrical wiring, so if someone like me could put this together than I am sure anyone could. 66Runt recommended I make a thread with some of the pics I took because although there are lots of threads on this topic there is no definitive 'tach wiring' thread. so here goes

Step 1: buy a tach

I bought the pedestal mount 3 3/4" Autometer Street Tach in a black housing for only $81.88 from Summit Racing. I chose this because it is not too big and blends in nicely with the instrument cluster in my '65.

atm-2894.jpg

Step 2: mount the tach

I chose to mount mine off to the side on the steering column. this part is up to you. you can do what I did, or mount on the dash, or close to the A-Pillar, or by the shifter, etc. In my position, the only thing I am blocking on the dash is the ALT idiot light, which will be useless anyway once my 1-wire PowerMaster goes in. If you are mounting on a flat surface, there are two screws included to hold the tach down. I used a hose/worm clamp (about $2.00) I got from Ace Hardware to secure it to the steering column.

dsc04125mn6.jpg

dsc04103uz0.jpg

Step 3: Wiring!

your tach will come with 4 wires sticking out the back. Green, Red, Black, and White.

Green goes to either the (-) side of your coil or to an ignition box if you have one. note: always attach to the tach terminal on the ignition box instead of the coil, otherwise you will fry your tach! This is the only wire which goes into your engine bay, everything else is under the dash. The picture helps show where the wire goes through the firewall, it's above some wires and should be close to where your windshield wiper wire goes.

dsc041082bm7.jpg

dsc040982rf1.jpg