tach stopped working, spun around

AdamantiumKnot

Founding Member
Sep 29, 2001
nj
98 gt. convertible, manual transmission.

i was driving home from the shore today i was in third gear and my tach spun all the way around and pegged itself past the trip mileage on the other side of the peg. it would wind back to almost what would be 8,000 rpms on some of my shifts, but otherwise nothing. thankfully i know the car just by sound and gear since i've been driving it for 8 years. checked the fuses nothing looked blown. has anyone ever had a similar problem?

• Sponsors (?)

I'm gonna ride sidecar with you in this thread because I'm having a problem with my speedo doing that. It will go up to like 75-80 and occasionally will wrap around until it's under the needle. The only way I can get it back around is to go warp speed fast or take the cluster apart. It's like it has a mind of its own.

Apparently this is common on alot of Ford tach(so a Ford mechanic told me) The fix they recommend at the dealership is to replace the cluster(of course) or there is a diode on the back side of the cluster that fails. If you're so inclined it can be fixed but you'll definately need some expertise in electronic repair or you'll have to take it somewhere.

Apparently this is common on alot of Ford tach(so a Ford mechanic told me) The fix they recommend at the dealership is to replace the cluster(of course) or there is a diode on the back side of the cluster that fails. If you're so inclined it can be fixed but you'll definately need some expertise in electronic repair or you'll have to take it somewhere.

Yes that is right. It's a cluster problem.

mine does the same thing all the time,usually if i stop after that then start accelerating it will actually start making its way backwards then i give the cluster a good tapping on and it comes back around.or you can take a paper clip,straighten it out and it will fit thru right around the mileage reset and you can get it back around.