TB worth it?

JPstealth

Nov 21, 2007
Nothern NJ
I know there have been tons of threads on this but I am just hesitant since I am a poor college student. :notnice: I have pretty much every bolt on except this. Its really not that expensive if the gains are right.

I do have a intake, larger MAF, and entire reichard racing manifold/plenum, from the previous owner. I know how the mani really doesn't help me being NA until high RPM's since it is for primarily boosted applications. So would a 75mm throttle body be advantageous to my set up or is it going to be that same maybe 5hp gain i keep reading about? :shrug:

• Sponsors (?)

With your other bolt ons, a 75mm T/B would net you about 5-10hp at this point. If anything, the Reichard Racing manifold and C&L MAF Meter is probably the bigger waste at this point...but I realize they were on the car when you bought it. If you're looking for any real power beyond this point, I'd start saving for a real power adder like nitrous or forced induction. This is what's going to make all of your other suporting mods you've got up till this point really shine! :nice:

I think a 75mm is too big for a N/A applications, you wont really see much gains you might even lose some power at the top of the RPM band (i think:shrug: so dont quote me on this) if you plan on stayin N/A just go with a 70mm i think that should be perfect

Hopefully some other stang members with a lot more knowledge and experience with such things will chime in :SNSign:

Dude you need to just buy a JLT cold air kit. It made a huge difference on my car. It relocates the mass air and filter into the fender. I felt a nice gain across the rpm band. I only have the 70mm tb, C&L intake, pullies, mac prochamber, flowmasters, 3.73 gears, and sct xcalibrator. You would really enjoy it.

I felt a nice gain with my Accufab TB and Plenum when my car was naturally aspirated. I went for the 75mm version btw.