Tell me about this Quarter Horse tuner

Discussion in '1994 - 1995 Specific Tech' started by 5.0_GT_kid, May 4, 2010.


  1. 5.0_GT_kid

    5.0_GT_kid Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2004
    Messages:
    1,711
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    37
    Location:
    Largo, Florida
    So I've been slowly getting back into the Mustang game here lately, and it appears that in my time away, this Quarter Horse thing popped up on the scene.

    Can anyone give me a breakdown (in layman's terms) how this stacks up to the old Tweecer, which I have been considering for some time now.

    Thanks guys.
     
    #1
  2. 2002BLGT

    2002BLGT Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2003
    Messages:
    2,949
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    59
    Location:
    Bedford VA
    Can be updated while the engine is running is biggest difference , datalogs and allows for same access
     
    #2
  3. nmcgrawj

    nmcgrawj Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2003
    Messages:
    3,666
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Indianapolis, IN
    glad to see ya back around man!


    There is no reason to go with a tweecer. The Quarter Horse does everything it can do for 1/3rd the price.
     
    #3
  4. greengoblin95

    greengoblin95 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2009
    Messages:
    94
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    can you access the cars ecm while the engine is off? Right now my car is running so rich that it would have a hard time idleing for me to try to change the parameters. i know that you can tune on the fly, so i am figuring that you can do it with the engine off as well???
     
    #4
  5. 5.0_GT_kid

    5.0_GT_kid Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2004
    Messages:
    1,711
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    37
    Location:
    Largo, Florida
    Thanks man. How have things been going for you?

    Looks like Quarter Horse is the way to go!

    Can anyone comment on which one is more user friendly?
     
    #5
  6. BlownFiveLiter

    BlownFiveLiter have car, will race....wait, it doesn't run

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 1999
    Messages:
    5,504
    Likes Received:
    25
    Trophy Points:
    88
    Location:
    Chicagoland
    You should be able to as long as you're at KOEO.
    Either one is going to be about the same. If you use EEC Analyzer/Binary Editor, it'll be exactly the same, since it's compatible with both devices.
     
    #6
  7. greengoblin95

    greengoblin95 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2009
    Messages:
    94
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    what do you mean KOEO? Key on engine off? i tried doing that yesterday but i couldnt do anything on B.E. the cars battery was about dead so that might have been the problem anyway. My laptop did pick up the tuner (well universal scanner). But after that the battery was about out.
     
    #7
  8. nmcgrawj

    nmcgrawj Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2003
    Messages:
    3,666
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Indianapolis, IN
    Cant complain. Recently got married and moved to Indianapolis. 1,000,000 times better than Detroit (although I was in the suburbs of detroit lol).

    As matt said, you can use the same programs with each. So they are pretty even.
     
    #8
  9. 5.0_GT_kid

    5.0_GT_kid Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2004
    Messages:
    1,711
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    37
    Location:
    Largo, Florida
    Congrats man? Is this the same girl you had been dating for all those years? How is your car?
     
    #9
  10. 95GTvert[bv12]

    Founding Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2001
    Messages:
    1,791
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    37
    Location:
    Lake Tahoe, NV
    Anyone every Try TunePro RT, I too recently got back into it and decided to order a 1/4 horse since it seems to be the new hot thing but I haven't had much luck with it. Main goal for me is to turn off the high speed fan since i now only have a single speed fan, and adjust my speedometer to be more accurate then it is since i have 3.73s.

    Would love to remove the timing drop between shifts, but it's secondary to getting the Fan settings fixed.
     
    #10
  11. from6to8

    from6to8 There's suction so I used that end O_O

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2012
    Messages:
    456
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    19
    I am a super noob when it comes to tuning , well at least the do it yourself stuff. I need to read up on it more, and on tunes in general and become more familiar. Me and my boy with a 408 was talking the other nite about which way we are going to go. Hell if we both get the quarterhorse we might as well get it together but we both would need someone to show us the ropes. Tune our car and show us how things work. Have to hopefully find someone in SC or find a friend somewhere not too far and drive up to him
     
    #11

Share This Page