The Cobra II Lives!

DarkFireGT

Playing with my wife's really makes me want one.
10 Year Member
May 23, 2004
East Moline, IL
Yup. Went out, pulled the valve cover, everything looked solid, still full of oil... put some gas in it, cleaned the carb out, and she started right up. Don't have a video of starting, but here's a vid of it running. The mic on the camera kinda amplifies it, but it actually runs very quiet. Sounds amazing for a car that hasn't run in 20 years. I'll have it driveable by the weekend. Which reminds me... anyone know anything about the rag joint? I have no clue what this is, as you can tell I'm pretty new at working on cars... my dad never taught me crap. But the guy I bought it from took (he said) some 7/8" bolts out of the rag joint so he could push the car around without breaking the steering column. Now I need to find some bolts/nuts and put it back together, but I have no idea where it is, what it looks like, or if I need special bolts. Any info would be appreciated.

and here's the vid
http://home.mchsi.com/~magnumrt05/ponytrotts.wmv

• Sponsors (?)

MadMark said:
BTW, you really want to change oil and filter before you start it again. Then again shortly afterwards.

And hoses, belts, fuel hoses, water pump....the list goes on forever.

The crashed '77 I bought had been sitting 20 years. needed LOTS of stuff changed. Wasn't worn out, just aged to the point of being useless.

Similarly, the 1950 Ford F1 pickup I'm restoring for a guy had sat untouched in his garage for a long time. The inspection sticker was from 1972 if I recall. I filed the points, and ran the fuel line into a coffee can full of gas bungee-cord'd to the inner fender, I dropped in a new(6V) battery, touched the starter button on the dash and it fired up after 30 years like it had just been running. I love old Fords.

Follow the steering column in the engine bay about half way down.