Thought It Was Fixed Still Runnin Rich Code 91 Only

Discussion in '1979 - 1995 (Fox, SN95.0, & 2.3L) -General/Talk-' started by joedirt76, Mar 4, 2014.


  1. joedirt76

    joedirt76 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2014
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    9
    Location:
    rocky point nc
    I don't think this is a normal problem ,this is gonna be long but please read and help , after lots of electrical test part swapping and replacing I am still running rich . as of now I am not using the pms it is on the bench stock computer only (a9p) , 36 # injectors replaced with 30# , correct calibration tube being used, maf properly cleaned , spark plugs are autolite 3924 gapped at .054 , base idle correct and tps at .99 , timing 14 degrees,o2 sensors replaced, o2 sensor harness completely continuity checked, all grounds checked and good , maf,map,and tps sensor checked and good . after all that I am pulling (code 91 only) and it just wont go away , ive cleared codes in ever fashion including battery disconnect to clear kam redrove reran test and 91 just wont go away , car starts and runs ok but is runnin rich enough the smell bothers u at idle , heres the kicker after parts replacement injectors , computer, plugs, and bypass pms ,the car ran so perfect I couldn't believe it !! but only lasted for that one run the next time I cranked 2 days later it was right back to runnin rich , please please help I am at total lost at this point , thanku in advance
     
    #1
  2. 84Ttop

    84Ttop They make new pistons every day, so why worry?
    SN Certified Technician Mod Dude

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2009
    Messages:
    3,304
    Likes Received:
    1,400
    Trophy Points:
    144
    Location:
    South Jersey
    Are you using a C&L Meter?
     
    #2
  3. joedirt76

    joedirt76 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2014
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    9
    Location:
    rocky point nc
    I am currently, I know everyone says there junk and pro-m supposed to be the way to go , due to lack of funds I haven't purchased one yet. I certainly don't know it all and hope to not offend anyboby in my lack of knowledge on some of this , but how can the meter alone throw that code , theres nothing electrical about it I would think maf sensor before the meter but then why not code 41 with it ?
     
    #3
  4. joedirt76

    joedirt76 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2014
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    9
    Location:
    rocky point nc
    just to be clear my mass air flow is a 76mm c&l with tube 099 for 30# injectors , the meter itself that plugs into harness is a stock meter
     
    #4
  5. Grabbin' Asphalt

    Grabbin' Asphalt Mustang Master

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2013
    Messages:
    1,940
    Showcase:
    25
    Albums:
    1
    Likes Received:
    277
    Trophy Points:
    94
    Location:
    Atlanta, Ga
    IMO the meter is critical in the amount of air/fuel mixture, .....so it is the BIG part on the air side to determine the Fuel side, any screw up in that dept and problems abound.
     
    #5
  6. Bullitt347

    Bullitt347 man bewbs please...

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2007
    Messages:
    1,726
    Likes Received:
    349
    Trophy Points:
    104
    Location:
    Pacific NW
    The reason C&L meters have this issue is that they are trying to "trick" the stock MAF sensor into reading a certain amount of air flow. The stock sensor was calibrated for 19 lb/hr injectors, with the C&L meter, the sensor is still calibrated for 19 lb/hr injectors, but C&L is using a different sampling tube to get a different air flow across the sensor to offset the larger fuel injectors. Sometimes it is close enough, sometimes not so much.
     
    #6
  7. joedirt76

    joedirt76 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2014
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    9
    Location:
    rocky point nc
    good explanation that makes sense , but how is a pro-m gonna solve the problem if im still using 30# injectors and the sensor is still calibrated for 19#
     
    #7
  8. Bullitt347

    Bullitt347 man bewbs please...

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2007
    Messages:
    1,726
    Likes Received:
    349
    Trophy Points:
    104
    Location:
    Pacific NW
    Because the Pro-M does not use a MAF sensor calibrated for 19 lb/hr injectors. They actually calibrate the sensor to the size injector you are using so there is no "tricking" of the sensor. The electronics inside the sensor have been changed (the air/fuel map or table is recalibrated) instead of changing how the air flows past the sensor.
     
    #8
    A5literMan likes this.
  9. joedirt76

    joedirt76 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2014
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    9
    Location:
    rocky point nc
    ahhhhh haa, 10/4 guess ima have to invest your the first one who has explained it in a way that I understand , makes total sense now especially being it has always ran rich since the build , I will get one, and I will reply with a update to this thread as soon as installed !! thanks a bunch
     
    #9
    A5literMan likes this.
  10. Bullitt347

    Bullitt347 man bewbs please...

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2007
    Messages:
    1,726
    Likes Received:
    349
    Trophy Points:
    104
    Location:
    Pacific NW
    Glad I could help, keep us posted.
     
    #10
  11. joedirt76

    joedirt76 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2014
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    9
    Location:
    rocky point nc
    was gonna wait till weekend to give better update , but bought pro-m 80 installed last night , put computer back in that I let sit on bench and decay in codes hookup up scanner cleared codes again and turned the key , right away running completely different and as much as I hate to say its worst after meter change,still running rich I didn't mess with it long only long enough to warm up and run a koer to pull codes , 91 is gone for now only pulled 3 others and that's the stuff unplugged egr,thermatic etc. but still running rich , im starting to wonder if im just overfueling somehow ,too much fuel pump,or jacked up regulator maybe ?
     
    #11
  12. jrichker

    jrichker StangNet's favorite TOOL
    SN Certified Technician Founding Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2000
    Messages:
    21,834
    Likes Received:
    405
    Trophy Points:
    134
    Location:
    Dublin GA
    What were the numeric codes?
     
    #12
  13. joedirt76

    joedirt76 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2014
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    9
    Location:
    rocky point nc
    was in a hurry didn't write them down ,but I do remember 94, I will have better update and info this weekend ! work has me tied down till then
     
    #13
  14. madspeed

    madspeed Colonel Mustard
    Mod Dude Founding Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 1999
    Messages:
    8,516
    Showcase:
    9
    Albums:
    1
    Likes Received:
    1,246
    Trophy Points:
    174
    Location:
    a van down by the river
    to clarify, you now have a pro m meter calibrated for 30# injectors along with 30# injectors?
     
    #14
  15. joedirt76

    joedirt76 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2014
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    9
    Location:
    rocky point nc
    Yes sir
     
    #15
  16. madspeed

    madspeed Colonel Mustard
    Mod Dude Founding Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 1999
    Messages:
    8,516
    Showcase:
    9
    Albums:
    1
    Likes Received:
    1,246
    Trophy Points:
    174
    Location:
    a van down by the river
    do ou have a wideband o2 sensor and an afr gauge?
     
    #16
  17. joedirt76

    joedirt76 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2014
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    9
    Location:
    rocky point nc
    No , just replaced o2's with new stock Bosch ones
     
    #17
  18. joedirt76

    joedirt76 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2014
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    9
    Location:
    rocky point nc
    Was gonna try next checking my fuel pressure with different gauge just to confirm if pressure is correct or not , right now I have small gauge tapped right into pressure regulator but want to rule out if that gauge is defective or not
     
    #18
  19. madspeed

    madspeed Colonel Mustard
    Mod Dude Founding Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 1999
    Messages:
    8,516
    Showcase:
    9
    Albums:
    1
    Likes Received:
    1,246
    Trophy Points:
    174
    Location:
    a van down by the river
    If no wideband how are you sure its rich?
     
    #19
  20. joedirt76

    joedirt76 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2014
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    9
    Location:
    rocky point nc
    FUMES, bout died lastnite just letting it warm up lol
     
    #20

Share This Page