Tips And Suggestions For Optimizing Sync

Discussion in '2010 - 2014 Specific Tech' started by ximportdriver, Oct 31, 2012.

  1. ximportdriver

    ximportdriver Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2003
    Messages:
    347
    Showcase:
    69
    Albums:
    3
    Likes Received:
    41
    Trophy Points:
    39
    Location:
    Rancho Cordova
    I've searched StangNet Forums for any tips and suggestions for optimizing Sync, but all I really found was a Sync-bashing thread: http://www.stangnet.com/mustang-forums/threads/my-sync-is-so-bad-i-will-not-buy-another-ford.849328/

    I'm interested in optimizing my utilization of Sync.

    So far, it has been painful. Let me give you two examples. First, trying to play music. Second, trying to make a call.

    For some reason, Sync defaults to Line In (Auxiliary) even though I don't have anything plugged into that port when I start the car. I always get in the car, select the speak button on the steering wheel, and say, "USB".

    From here I get completely mixed and unreliable results.

    I will hit the speak button and say, "Play all," and it will ask, "Play music by [artist]?"

    Sometimes, after several attempts, I end up using the media button and manually selecting Play All on the radio dash.

    For trying to call my home, I will hit the speak button and say, "Call home," and, I'm not kidding, it will say, "Calling Wal-Mart."

    Note that the iPhone is connected via bluetooth for phone services but hard connected via USB for media functionality.

    What tips and suggestions do you have for optimizing utilization of Sync?

    Please note and respect that I'm not interested in going aftermarket; I want to use what I have in this case.
     
    #1
  2. Husky44

    Husky44 Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2006
    Messages:
    798
    Showcase:
    2
    Albums:
    1
    Likes Received:
    64
    Trophy Points:
    29
    Location:
    Vero Beach, FL
    Did you go through the voice recognition set up drill? It takes about 5 minutes to walk you through saying a whole bunch of phrases. That helped mine a lot. I used to argue with it... it really gets confused when you yell "No! Not F__CKING WalMart! I said call HOME you dumb@$$!". I don't know how to make it understand that, but the setup drill really helped mine understand me better.

    As to the line in default, mine does that every once in a while, but I can't figure out why, so no help there.
     
    #2
  3. ximportdriver

    ximportdriver Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2003
    Messages:
    347
    Showcase:
    69
    Albums:
    3
    Likes Received:
    41
    Trophy Points:
    39
    Location:
    Rancho Cordova
    How does one start the setup wizard? I just checked the manual and didn't see such an option. Do you have a page reference that I can use?

    I went to syncmyride.com to look up more info. It was helpful.

    Some synonyms just don't work, and I need to stop thinking of Sync as Siri.
     
    #3
  4. Husky44

    Husky44 Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2006
    Messages:
    798
    Showcase:
    2
    Albums:
    1
    Likes Received:
    64
    Trophy Points:
    29
    Location:
    Vero Beach, FL
    I don't have the manual handy. I just bumbled through all the setup menus until I found it. Sorry I can't be more help, but car's now in storage, and I'm about 900 miles away.

    It can't be too hard to find--I found it. :D
     
    #4
  5. CCS86

    CCS86 New Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2012
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    3
    I've never seen a voice setup like that either.

    Sometimes mine works amazing well, will recognize a tough phrase with the windows down at speed. Other times it can be totally unresponsive, laggy, or butcher the recognition.

    For the Aux in thing, try power the system off before you kill the car, then give it 15 seconds after starting the engine next time before you start the stereo. It seems like Sync polls the USB too quickly and moves on.

    Sometimes mine will refuse to go into any Aux mode. Keeps kicking back to AM radio, no voice prompt, nothing.



    Sent from my PG86100 using Tapatalk 2
     
    #5
  6. CCS86

    CCS86 New Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2012
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Ttt

    Sent from my PG86100 using Tapatalk 2
     
    #6
  7. Ibnzmonkey

    Ibnzmonkey New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2012
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I have the same frustration. 90% of the time I play my music through bluetooth and it's frustrating to click through the menus to get to the streaming mode. Hopefully someone will find a way to lock settings so this crap becomes less of an issue.
     
    #7
  8. Blackbeast12

    Blackbeast12 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2012
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    14
    voice recognition is overrated, i haven't had any issues with mine..but i don't use it that often...
     
    #8

Share This Page