Tire pressure sensors

Discussion in '2007 - 2014 Shelby GT500 Tech' started by albinorhino, Dec 8, 2006.


  1. albinorhino

    albinorhino New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2006
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I changed my stock 18 inch wheels for 20 inch wheels. The guys can't figure out exactly how to transfer the tire pressure sensors over. Can anybody give me specifics on how to find a new strap and cradle for the sensor so I can get the tire pressure sensor fault light off !
    #1
  2. 310stanger

    310stanger New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2006
    Messages:
    181
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    dealer. whoever did your wheels apparently ate paint chips when they were a kid as well.
    #2
  3. 07 grabber

    07 grabber New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2007
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Remove the sensors from your old rims and install them in a sealed pvc tube with a valve stem in one end. Set the pressure to 32psi and the light will go off. You can also buy new straps and cradles from Discount tire for around $50 bucks and mount them to your new rims. The pvc is the way I went, Its cheap.
    #3
  4. bigcat

    bigcat start with the upper hole, and if more traction is

    Joined:
    May 2, 2005
    Messages:
    4,248
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    79
    Location:
    7200 feet
    that way is only for the people that dont care what their tire pressure is, and only care about the idiot light.

    if you want the sensors to function, buy new straps from the dealer. you would think a tire shop would know what to do. :shrug:
    #4
  5. 07 grabber

    07 grabber New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2007
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    How did you check your pressure before tps? I use my tire gauge like I have been for 32 years. My gauge will last longer than your tps sensor will.
    #5
  6. RICKS

    RICKS New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2003
    Messages:
    601
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Ocala, FL
    Your gauge does you little good when you're doing 140 mph cooking down some country roads, not realizing you picked up a nail in the parking lot leaving work, not realizing you had a tire that was down 10-15 pounds, until it blows sky-high and sends you careening off the road....

    TPS is a very nice safety measure for cars that are capable of very high speeds. When you're doing 150+ +, it's nice to know that you've got proper pressures right then and there, instead of just relying on the last time you stuck a gauge on the valve-stem..
    #6
  7. 07 grabber

    07 grabber New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2007
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Tpms only checks tires once a minute. blow out happens in a blink of on eye. If you are changing tires/rims and using the same size yes I would install then. but if you are going with bigger rims with low profile tires I would use the pressure tube.
    #7
  8. metroplex

    metroplex Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2003
    Messages:
    400
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    SE MI
    The TPMS sensors use 5 year lithium batteries. Once the batteries are dead, I suspect you will need new sensors.
    #8

Share This Page