$tock $hort block?

Adam00GT

Founding Member
Feb 23, 2001
Atlanta, GA
Guys,

I've got a high mileage 95 GT (195k) and have been thinking about what I want to do when the engine dies or I have the money...whichever comes sooner!

My car will probably never see the drag strip so it's mainly just a weekend street cruiser. I was thinking about dropping a long block in it but WOW those can get expensive unless I went with a stock longblock but then I'd be yanking heads, and cam immediately and the cheapest I've found is around $1,200.

I'm kinda new to the 5.0 scene as I've owned two modular mustangs prior. I'm looking to get around 300RWHP +/- with the usual bolt-ons and heads,cam,intake,etc.

Where would you guys start as far as finding just a short block. The one's I've seen from like DSS or Livernois are all built with forged stuff and $1500+. Am I dreaming in thinking I should be able to find a pretty much stock short block for $500-$800 then slap a cam, GT40 heads and Intake, and all the other hardware and have an engine ready to throw in the car?

There are way to many paths to be taken when building a 5.0....this is a completely different world for me coming from the 4.6 where you pretty much had bolt ons and power adders and thats it! UNLESS you had serious money to throw at it!

What do you think...with all the bolt ons, full exhaust, a stock block with heads, cam, intake make 300RWHP +/-?

Cost wise are the GT40 FRPP stuff any better then Trickflow? or Eldebrock or Holley?

Sorry for so many questions but like I said I'm kinda new at this!

Thanks,

Adam

• Sponsors (?)