Tune?

Discussion in 'Fox 5.0 Mustang Tech' started by 306N/A, Jul 3, 2014.


  1. 306N/A

    306N/A Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2013
    Messages:
    95
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    9
    Location:
    Ontario
    Running 360-400 hp 306 , runs good but should I get a tune or chip for the al9 ?
     
    #1
  2. Sharad

    Sharad ALWAYS choose the V over the P!!! Wait... what? Site Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2011
    Messages:
    1,421
    Showcase:
    1
    Likes Received:
    346
    Trophy Points:
    94
    Location:
    Fort Myers, Florida
    There's no substitute for a good custom tune... but it gets complicated since the EEC4s can't be flashed like the new cars. I've used an AFM PMS in the past, and that was a suitable option. Many people upgrade to a standalone like FAST or Holley when they want to tune a Fox.
     
    #2
  3. tamadrummer88

    tamadrummer88 Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2005
    Messages:
    601
    Likes Received:
    76
    Trophy Points:
    39
    Location:
    Aloha State
    So much information is missing from the original post. Mods? street, track? what makes you think you need a tune?
     
    #3
    Gearbanger 101 likes this.
  4. Spaz

    Spaz Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2013
    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    11
    Trophy Points:
    19
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Has it been on the dyno already? If so, does it have 360 hp or 400 hp. 40 hp is a pretty big difference. I presume you have forced induction of some kind.
     
    #4
  5. 84Ttop

    84Ttop They make new pistons every day, so why worry? SN Certified Technician Mod Dude

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2009
    Messages:
    3,301
    Likes Received:
    1,393
    Trophy Points:
    144
    Location:
    South Jersey
    If you think it runs good then rock and roll.

    If you want it to run better, find a reputable tuner and have them burn a custom chip for it. (not mail order)
     
    #5
  6. madspeed

    madspeed Colonel Mustard Mod Dude Founding Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 1999
    Messages:
    8,497
    Showcase:
    9
    Albums:
    1
    Likes Received:
    1,240
    Trophy Points:
    174
    Location:
    a van down by the river

    ^^^ this ^^^
     
    #6
    Gearbanger 101 and tamadrummer88 like this.
  7. 306N/A

    306N/A Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2013
    Messages:
    95
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    9
    Location:
    Ontario
    Ya runs good, but not sure if getting a chip or tune will give me noticeable difference?
    Was on a engine dyno. Added few parts afterward
    Noticed it doesn't let me rev past 6200
     
    #7
  8. mikestang63

    mikestang63 Mustang Master

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2012
    Messages:
    4,036
    Showcase:
    20
    Albums:
    1
    Likes Received:
    1,144
    Trophy Points:
    154
    Location:
    In the garage
    could be a lot of things from the cam to fuel to timing. You need to post more of your setup. Where does peak hp and tq occur?
     
    #8
    tamadrummer88 likes this.
  9. 306N/A

    306N/A Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2013
    Messages:
    95
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    9
    Location:
    Ontario
    The stock EEC doesn't let it rev past 6200 I heard, acts as a rev limiter ?
    Just wondering how much power can the stock EEC handle till it has to be upgraded or if it even has to?
     
    #9
    Last edited: Jul 4, 2014
  10. 306N/A

    306N/A Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2013
    Messages:
    95
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    9
    Location:
    Ontario
    Mods
    306 Refinished stock bottom end with girdle
    Scat rods prob pistons afr 165 heads 1.6 rr cobra intake 65 mm tb 70mm mass 24lb inj 255 fp
    Mac headers flow master exh no cats 373 gears

    Was on engine Dyno when built with carb and stock 87 headers made 362 hp 358 tq
     
    #10
  11. 306N/A

    306N/A Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2013
    Messages:
    95
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    9
    Location:
    Ontario
    Went to the strip Friday was running 13.1 with no traction off the line. And had mt street slicks
    Where should I go from here what would be my weakest link?
    I'm thinking 410 gears ? And is the cobra intake restricting flow?
     
    #11
  12. stykthyn

    stykthyn Commander of the snuggie cultists

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2006
    Messages:
    8,111
    Likes Received:
    591
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Location:
    gainesville
    That's a pretty mild combo that I doubt is laying more than 300 to the wheels. What cam are you running? With that combo your ecu should have no problems running things. Don't waste on a tune.
     
    #12
    f8tlfiveo and 2000xp8 like this.
  13. 2000xp8

    2000xp8 Mustang Master

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2003
    Messages:
    5,466
    Likes Received:
    264
    Trophy Points:
    124
    Location:
    NJ
    Most of these setups don't need more than 6200rpm.
    You say you need to go past 6200rpm, yet have a cobra intake. My guess would be you really don't need to go past 6200.

    Your mph along with your ET and 60ft will help determine if it's the car or you that is the problem.

    Intakes aren't responsible for a missing 1-.5 seconds.
    Maybe .2 at best with a 306 with another intake.

    You don't need 4.10's or 4.33's.
    3.73's are fine for most street cars.
     
    #13
    Last edited: Jul 6, 2014
    f8tlfiveo and 84Ttop like this.
  14. 306N/A

    306N/A Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2013
    Messages:
    95
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    9
    Location:
    Ontario
    Comp cam fw 276h-r14.
    At the end of the 1/4 I'm in 4th at 5000rpm with 373.
    What gears can I go to 410 433?
     
    #14
  15. 306N/A

    306N/A Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2013
    Messages:
    95
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    9
    Location:
    Ontario
    Rt - .411
    60 - 1.956
    330 - 6.062
    1/8 - 8.375
    Mph - 84.87
    1000 - 10.88
    1/4. - 13.011
    Mph. - 106.34
     
    #15
  16. 306N/A

    306N/A Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2013
    Messages:
    95
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    9
    Location:
    Ontario
    Could not hook up in 1st. Track was horrible
    And was my first time at the track.. So ya I'm big part of the problem :p
     
    #16
  17. 2000xp8

    2000xp8 Mustang Master

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2003
    Messages:
    5,466
    Likes Received:
    264
    Trophy Points:
    124
    Location:
    NJ
    Your 60ft time isn't that great for using ET streets.
    106mph is a little low too.

    I'd guess your issues have more to do with driving and practice and your setup. Rarely does anyone pull their best run on their one and only try.

    If you can't hook up now with 3.73's, it only gets worse with 4.10s.
     
    #17
  18. mikestang63

    mikestang63 Mustang Master

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2012
    Messages:
    4,036
    Showcase:
    20
    Albums:
    1
    Likes Received:
    1,144
    Trophy Points:
    154
    Location:
    In the garage

    I agree. Work on your driving skills. Sounds like you are spinning through the 60ft. A deeper gear will onlly make it worse.

    Couple of questions

    What is the air pressure in the tires
    how much of a burnout are you doing
    what rpm are you launching at
     
    #18
  19. 306N/A

    306N/A Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2013
    Messages:
    95
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    9
    Location:
    Ontario
     
    #19
  20. 306N/A

    306N/A Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2013
    Messages:
    95
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    9
    Location:
    Ontario
    20lbs launching around 5000
    And spinning through 1st and a bit in second
    But everyone was complaining on the track .. No one was hooking
     
    #20

Share This Page