V1-SC Install but no boost!

Discussion in 'Fox 5.0 Mustang Tech' started by manny, Jun 26, 2006.


  1. manny

    Founding Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2001
    Messages:
    590
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    TAMPA FL
    I'll give it a try and see were I'm at and go from there cause I know how to shift my AOD so thats no problem and I sure you mean WOT and I'll let you all know were it sits.
     
    #61
  2. Blk91stang

    Blk91stang Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2003
    Messages:
    610
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    North Brunswick, NJ
    I think TunedIn brought the topic back on track.. thanks :rlaugh:

    You should see around 4-5psi around 5,000-5,500 rpms, don't be afraid to mash the pedal!!!
     
    #62
  3. blackcloud50

    blackcloud50 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2005
    Messages:
    389
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Exactly. Put the thing in "D" and leave it. Put your foot to the floor and take it near the limiter. Then see what you got.
     
    #63
  4. manny

    Founding Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2001
    Messages:
    590
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    TAMPA FL
    Im not just dont want to hert it thats all
     
    #64
  5. blackcloud50

    blackcloud50 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2005
    Messages:
    389
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Turn up the fuel pressure a little more then stomp on it. As long as timing is at 10* and your are using premium gas. That kit doesn't come with a BTM because it's not needed.
     
    #65
  6. manny

    Founding Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2001
    Messages:
    590
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    TAMPA FL
    ok its better to run rich then lean :nice:
     
    #66
  7. blackcloud50

    blackcloud50 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2005
    Messages:
    389
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Yes..it's just to see what psi you get up to and will be safe
     
    #67
  8. Blk91stang

    Blk91stang Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2003
    Messages:
    610
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    North Brunswick, NJ
    I've put my stock 130k mile shortblock through the following.

    Overheated 3 times
    Ran about 10 min with antifreeze in the oil
    Ran the car without oil for 30 seconds
    Roughly 470 horsepower
    A couple over revs from miss shifts
    10psi of boost
    Numerous Dyno Pulls

    And the ****er still runs..

    Go out there and beat the snot out of her!!! With the FMU and under 5 psi, you should have ZERO problems!! Vortech intentially sets it up so you run about 10:1 and 11:1 a/f ratio. Don't be afraid!!!! :nice:
     
    #68
  9. manny

    Founding Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2001
    Messages:
    590
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    TAMPA FL
    ok I will hell if it go's witch it wont but if it dose thats a good time to build my mean motor :nice:
     
    #69
  10. Blk91stang

    Blk91stang Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2003
    Messages:
    610
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    North Brunswick, NJ
    That's my mentality. My headgasket went for the 3rd time so now my 331 is on the way. What an expensive hobby were in. Not to mention all of these mustangs are money pits. I have over 3 times the money in my car than I paid for it :bang: .
     
    #70
  11. manny

    Founding Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2001
    Messages:
    590
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    TAMPA FL
    expensive hobby yes but its all having and make something,something you can stand back a say thats mine I build it
     
    #71
  12. Blk91stang

    Blk91stang Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2003
    Messages:
    610
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    North Brunswick, NJ
    One of the only reasons I dump my money into it. I spend all of my free time playing around with it and fixing things. Keeps me busy and happy to spend $2,000 here, $5,000 there. There's something wrong with us Mustang Guys :rlaugh:
     
    #72
  13. manny

    Founding Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2001
    Messages:
    590
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    TAMPA FL
    lol it's the chevy guys that got it bad spending ever dime trying to out do a littile 302 now thats bad :rlaugh:
     
    #73
  14. Blue89gt

    Founding Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2002
    Messages:
    404
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Denver Colorado
    didnt read the whole post but DO not hook up the boost guage to the fuel pressure regulator vac line.... the boost guage is sort of a vacuum leak, the FPR needs to have a god vac signal...
     
    #74
  15. Blk91stang

    Blk91stang Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2003
    Messages:
    610
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    North Brunswick, NJ
    I hooked up my hand vacuum pump to my boost guage before installation and it held 30 in of Vacuum all day long. Is there something I'm missing??
     
    #75
  16. manny

    Founding Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2001
    Messages:
    590
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    TAMPA FL
    ok guys the other day I toke it to 5500 RPM and I saw like 3 or 4 pounds and when I shift it this sucker broke lose at 30mph and yes it was a dry day that never happen before but is that PSI about right for what the setup is right now
     
    #76
  17. STANGateURlilSS

    Founding Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2002
    Messages:
    715
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    USA AND SANDBOX
    depending upon what year f150 that block is for.. it would be the same block in your mustang.. which is not a 4 bolt main.. its just a 2 bolt
     
    #77
  18. Blk91stang

    Blk91stang Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2003
    Messages:
    610
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    North Brunswick, NJ
    yep. your good to go! Also your stock tach may be off if you going by that. Mine is off a good 300-400 rpm at 6,000.
     
    #78
  19. manny

    Founding Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2001
    Messages:
    590
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    TAMPA FL
    really than its a good thing I got auto meter's 5" tach
     
    #79

Share This Page