Virgin 1990 5.0 Convertible...suggestions

straws

Dec 29, 2005
I am brand new to this group, but not new to mechanics. Just to give a quick background, I was an ASE master mechanic, and i have 13 years professional experience until my injury that prevented continued my profession in the automobile field. My last project was a 65 Mustang with a stock 1986 5.0/AOD conversion, Tubbed out with 14.5" tires. So not a real newbie. (several hundred posts on vintage mustang forum).

Now my question. In all of my time working on cars and trucks, I never really modified a stock car to perform better. However, I just bought a 1990 Convertible with 5.0, and I was looking for suggestions to modify.

Honestly, I am looking to turn the key and go, but be able to snap the throttle and the tires erupt in smoke. I do not wish to race anyone. I want to look stock, but have the ability to literally romp the throttle and have smoke. I am quite sure this mustang has Posi right now, because when I try to brake torque it, it starts to go sideways (not enough) then digs in.

I am always on a budget, but looking for the items that matter. What do you experts think?

• Sponsors (?)

Welcome to the boards. :nice:

All 5.0L aero foxes have a Trac lok (LSD) 8.8" rear end.

Do you have a direction you wish to go in the pursuit of additional torque? Are you an HCI guy or nitrous or blower or junkyard TT kind of guy, etc?

More info about what avenue you might wish to pursue can make it easier for the smart peeps on here to make recommendations that fit your tastes.

Good luck.

I have no real goal. I am now an auditor as a profession, so money is my most serious concern. Skill is not an issue. I would LOVE a blower, I would LOVE nitrous. However, what would bring the biggest bang for a buck.

These engines are tried and true, with tons of advice. I am hoping someone can point me to the right path (power/budget) to get a tire smoker!