VT N/A Camshaft video/soundclip

Discussion in 'SN95 4.6L Mustang Tech' started by VTEngine, Nov 4, 2003.


  1. HUCKELBERRY

    HUCKELBERRY New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2003
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    E-TOWN
    Does VT have a grind for the Kenne bell blower?
     
    #41
  2. mogs01gt

    Founding Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2002
    Messages:
    2,931
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    57
    Location:
    Ohio
    the blower cams would work fine with any type of blower I bet but I would think they could do custom grinds.

    Scott, do you gus recommend after market springs though? I was going with Comp of course.

    Nick
     
    #42
  3. RonnieDiaz99GT

    RonnieDiaz99GT New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2003
    Messages:
    118
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Eliz NJ
    Hey Scott at VTE, where can I get them?...Would you recommend Ronnie Diaz Motorsports since they are an authorized distibutor and 1 hell of a nice guy? LOL LOL
     
    #43
  4. mogs01gt

    Founding Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2002
    Messages:
    2,931
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    57
    Location:
    Ohio
    Ron, you're such a little joker. :p
     
    #44
  5. SmithAtlanta

    Founding Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2001
    Messages:
    1,114
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Roswell, GA
    I wonder how much power I would get from some blower cams with stock heads(for now). I'd love to get some but I'm a little paranoid since I already have 400+ rwhp on this stock block.

    I wish I had the dough to do what you did Jared. When you throw that blower on there, you are really going to have some fun. :D
     
    #45
  6. StangLou

    StangLou Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2003
    Messages:
    1,266
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Holly Springs, NC
    VT, do you have any specs as compared to stock? I am thinking of changing my mind and staying NA instead of adding a sc in the future, and a cam swap is a must for this choise. Im simply asking about stock #'s since the cams would be the first thing I replaced, then intake, then heads due to $$$.

    Thanks man... oh and sounds pretty good :nice:
     
    #46
  7. VTEngines

    VTEngines New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2003
    Messages:
    180
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Michigan

    Our blower cams gained 87hp over stock cams ON STOCK HEADS with 12psi.

    Jim
    Team VT
     
    #47
  8. VTEngines

    VTEngines New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2003
    Messages:
    180
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Michigan
    SPECS from a set of cams from a 2000GT as measured on he cam doctor:

    STOCK: .500/.529 lift
    201/208 .050 dur
    252/260 adv dur
    113/116 C/L

    our STAGE 2: .560/.575 lift
    225/235 .050 dur
    270/282 adv dur
    108/108 C/L

    Jim
    Team VT
     
    #48
  9. mogs01gt

    Founding Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2002
    Messages:
    2,931
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    57
    Location:
    Ohio
    I finally figured out which VTEngine guy is which lol.

    Has there been any problems with the bottom end of the 4.6 with that high lift? My friend was asking me if I think that my motor could stand revving up to 6500 or 7000 and not spin a bearing or bend a rod since I drive pretty hard.

    Nick
     
    #49
  10. SmithAtlanta

    Founding Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2001
    Messages:
    1,114
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Roswell, GA
    Guess it wouldn't be to good an idea to throw those on a stock block, then. :) I'll add those to my list when Tim builds my long block....
     
    #50
  11. VTEngine

    Founding Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2002
    Messages:
    371
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Lansing, MI
    Nick.

    With stock cylinder heads, the car won't make power that high in the rpm range anyways, so you'd be wasting time and wearing out components for no reason. With the stock heads/intake/exhaust intact, you'll see peak power before 6000rpm, which a stock motor can rev to very safely.
     
    #51
  12. VTEngines

    VTEngines New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2003
    Messages:
    180
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Michigan
    I'm the smart one........

    Jim
    Team VT
     
    #52
  13. VTEngines

    VTEngines New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2003
    Messages:
    180
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Michigan
    I (Jim) am VTEngines (with an "s"). Scott is VTengine (no "s"). t only gets confusing when he posts from my computer. Thats why we try to sign our names all the time now........LOL!

    Jim
    Team VT
    :nice:
     
    #53
  14. VTEngine

    Founding Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2002
    Messages:
    371
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Lansing, MI

    .........and I'm the one people like because I know what's going on. Back to your chevy stuff "Caveman". Oh ya, I'm also the good looking one, talented one, caring one, and just all 'round good guy! :rlaugh:
     
    #54
  15. VTEngines

    VTEngines New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2003
    Messages:
    180
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Michigan

    you forgot idiot.

    :rlaugh:

    Jim
     
    #55
  16. mogs01gt

    Founding Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2002
    Messages:
    2,931
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    57
    Location:
    Ohio
    caveman :rlaugh: :lol:
     
    #56
  17. Twisted01GT

    Twisted01GT New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2003
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Joliet,IL
    How much for the cams? Can I use both stage 1 and stage 2 cams with stock heads and which would make more sence? I would like to keep the car N/A. Is there a computer flash or chip that you recomend with a cam swap?

    Sorry for all the questions......
     
    #57
  18. Stang2003GT

    Stang2003GT Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2003
    Messages:
    254
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Can I Install The stage 2 Cam on a total stock motor with just flowmasters? How hard is it to install cams on a 4.6? I looks to be simple but Ive never worked on a 4.6. So if i were to get the S2 cams with new rockers and springs I should be able to run the ***t out of the motor and not have to worry. So if I were to have them Installed and tuned how much would that cost?
     
    #58
  19. VTEngine

    Founding Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2002
    Messages:
    371
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Lansing, MI
    If you have a stock intake and exhaust, with no head porting, we strongly recommend the stage 1 cams. The stage2's were designed for ported heads, intake upgrades and longtubes. They WILL work with stock components (intake/exhaust) but the cams will be extremely choked down.
     
    #59
  20. trinity_gt

    trinity_gt Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2003
    Messages:
    3,048
    Likes Received:
    68
    Trophy Points:
    69
    Location:
    Canada
    If one were to bolt these cams into a pretty stock '02 engine with the factory PCM, is that idle going to cause a misfire MIL?

    That car sounds just awsome BTW :nice: :D
     
    #60

Share This Page