Progress Thread Want To Blow 4 Years And $40k On A Foxbody? Step By Step Instructions Inside!

Discussion in '1979 - 1995 (Fox, SN95.0, & 2.3L) -General/Talk-' started by RacEoHolic330, Nov 14, 2011.


  1. RacEoHolic330

    RacEoHolic330 I like to dress like a pretty girl SN Certified Technician

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2003
    Messages:
    3,500
    Likes Received:
    696
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    Allentown, PA
    As I mentioned earlier, I wanted to get a VSS output to the ECU. The only problem was that the Holley HP can only read a square wave 0-5V signal. The output from the stock VSS is a sine wave. So, enter the signal conditioner.
    [​IMG]

    This little guy will take that nasty sine way and convert it to a nice square wave that the ECU can use. I found a nifty little box online that was the perfect size for it. I drilled a hole through the one cover for the wires.
    [​IMG]

    I soldered on the necessary wires to the board. It needed it's own 12V and ground source in addition to the two VSS inputs and a single output. After I took this picture, I slid a few pieces of large heat shrink over the whole board to insulate the entire thing.
    [​IMG]

    Fits great in the box, which will sit right next to the ECU.
    [​IMG]

    In other news, I finally got the tires put back on my wheels. Adjusting them to 6.75" of backspacing for the 18x9" wheels worked perfect. They fit great.
    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    That is with almost all the camber available. There is about 1/4" of clearance to the upper subframe mount. I'm fine with that because the wheel moves towards the fender as the suspension compresses. I'll need to adjust the ride height as I add weight back to the car. It's sitting a bit low for my taste at the moment.

    True Forged was great during the whole process. It did take a while to get the wheels back, but they were done right. They really are a stand up company. You certainly get what you pay for.

    I also got the doors from the painter. I'll work one getting them mounted this week.
    [​IMG]
     
    #1521
    Last edited: Jun 2, 2014
  2. RangerJoe

    RangerJoe Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2010
    Messages:
    1,182
    Showcase:
    3
    Albums:
    1
    Likes Received:
    179
    Trophy Points:
    74
    Location:
    Georgia
    Man, this car looks better every time I see it. Good choice on the wheels Scott!

    Joe
     
    #1522
    tamadrummer88 likes this.
  3. MikeH686

    MikeH686 Mine is only two inches though.

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2011
    Messages:
    2,002
    Likes Received:
    370
    Trophy Points:
    104
    Location:
    Waldorf, MD
    Scott you should come to my house and redo my wiring in my car haha looks good though friend. Makes me want to dismantle my fenders and re work my harness to make it look a little better
     
    #1523
  4. 89oem

    89oem Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2013
    Messages:
    475
    Likes Received:
    75
    Trophy Points:
    39
    those mach 5's look great!
     
    #1524
  5. 90lxcoupe

    90lxcoupe Mustang Master

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2003
    Messages:
    3,446
    Likes Received:
    176
    Trophy Points:
    84
    Those wheels definitely look awesome. Would you want to sell me one of those vehicle speed sensors? Do you think they are sensitive enough that you could activate the 2 step through it and the 2 step would shut off as soon as the car moved?
     
    #1525
  6. RacEoHolic330

    RacEoHolic330 I like to dress like a pretty girl SN Certified Technician

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2003
    Messages:
    3,500
    Likes Received:
    696
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    Allentown, PA
    Thanks guys. I'm really happy with the wheel choice too. They really set the car off.

    @90lxcoupe, you can get the conditioner board here:
    http://www.jbperf.com/dual_VR/v2_1.html

    You'll need the stock VSS sensor in the transmission as well. I don't see why it wouldn't work with a 2 step. Guys are using the VSS input for trans brake setups. The sensor will start making voltage as soon as the car moves and the resolution of the sensor should be adequate enough for it to generate a pulse in less than a foot of movement.
     
    #1526
  7. 90lxcoupe

    90lxcoupe Mustang Master

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2003
    Messages:
    3,446
    Likes Received:
    176
    Trophy Points:
    84
    I had a brain fart there for a second, i will probably be able to activate the 2 step off of the hall effect sensor i am putting on my transmission yoke. I dont think my TKO has any kind of electronic speed sensor that would be of any use.
     
    #1527
  8. RacEoHolic330

    RacEoHolic330 I like to dress like a pretty girl SN Certified Technician

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2003
    Messages:
    3,500
    Likes Received:
    696
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    Allentown, PA
    My TKO 500 has both the stock VSS on the driver side as well as a speed sensor (magnetic) on the passenger side. I'm using that one for my autometer speedo.
     
    #1528
  9. GroverDill

    GroverDill GoldMember

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 1999
    Messages:
    4,808
    Likes Received:
    321
    Trophy Points:
    114
    Location:
    Rathdrum ID 83858
  10. RacEoHolic330

    RacEoHolic330 I like to dress like a pretty girl SN Certified Technician

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2003
    Messages:
    3,500
    Likes Received:
    696
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    Allentown, PA
    They're adorable, aren't they?
     
    #1530
    tamadrummer88 likes this.
  11. RacEoHolic330

    RacEoHolic330 I like to dress like a pretty girl SN Certified Technician

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2003
    Messages:
    3,500
    Likes Received:
    696
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    Allentown, PA
    So, I spent the majority of the weekend working on the car and all I have to show for it are two doors, mounted to the car, with windows that go up and down when I push a button. I won't bother posting a picture of that. Just go out to your car, open the door, and operate your power windows. That's what my car does now.

    Putting the guts back in the doors was a true pain in the ass. It's quite time consuming. I also didn't realize that Ford grounded both of the doors wiring to the driver side door near the window motor. I plugged in the switches, installed the fuse in the fuse panel, pushed the down button, and a whole lot of nothing happened. I had voltage at the plug inside the car, but nothing in the door. Turns out that because I had my door brackets powder coated, I guess there was no ground path from the doors to the chassis. The simple solution was just to run a separate ground wire to the door. That seems like a crappy way to provide ground to the power windows and door locks. Amazing the little ways Ford tried to save money.
     
    #1531
    91chp notch likes this.
  12. 84Ttop

    84Ttop They make new pistons every day, so why worry? SN Certified Technician Mod Dude

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2009
    Messages:
    3,266
    Likes Received:
    1,369
    Trophy Points:
    144
    Location:
    South Jersey
    ^^ That was a very anti climatic update... :p

    Still can't get over how great those wheels look!
     
    #1532
    TOOLOW91 likes this.
  13. RacEoHolic330

    RacEoHolic330 I like to dress like a pretty girl SN Certified Technician

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2003
    Messages:
    3,500
    Likes Received:
    696
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    Allentown, PA
    Thanks Nick. I'm super happy with the wheels. I don't regret spending that kind of dough on them at all.

    I was on vacation the past few days, so not much updates on the car. I did manage to get the doors aligned. What a PITA that was! The passenger door closes like a dream. The drivers door is still pretty tight though. I may need to align the striker a little better. I'm going to let the doors sit closed for a bit and let the new weatherstripping flatten out some more.

    Next up will be shooting some exterior paint on the rest of the exterior trim and mirrors. I also need to align the suspension and set the bumpsteer for the front and rear. I've been dreading doing that, but it needs to be done.
     
    #1533
    91chp notch likes this.
  14. kbscobravert

    kbscobravert New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2014
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I have been following this build from Corral to here and finally registered just so I can post. I am happy to see another Holley EFI user. Ecspecially one doing some of the same stuff I want to do. Like: VSS input and knock sensor. Not even on the Holley forum is there a lot of info on them.

    I am running the Dominator EFI for the amount of fluid/air temps I want to monitor. All of my system is standing by at the house ready to start an install.

    What GM knock sensor did you use? Got a link to buy?

    I see you are running crank sensor. Whose is that? It looks just like the Cherry GS100102 sensor that Danny C. recommends. I bought two of them from DigiKey yesterday (2-just in case I have to diag a problem)

    Would you care to build me one of these? Paypal standing by :)

    Why not feed your Autometer speedo with a signal from the ECU?

     
    #1534
  15. RacEoHolic330

    RacEoHolic330 I like to dress like a pretty girl SN Certified Technician

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2003
    Messages:
    3,500
    Likes Received:
    696
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    Allentown, PA
    Cool man. I think I recognize your name from Corral.

    The crank trigger kit is from MSD and the hall effect sensor is a Holley unit. That damn sensor was $100.

    I got the GM sensors off eBay. They are OEM and recommended by holley. I prefer using OEM sensors opposed to aftermarket ones. I'll dig up the eBay link for you.

    The speedo is fed directly from the trans. I had it fed that way before I installed the Holley. Also, the HP only recognizes 0-5v speed inputs, unlike the Dominator which can also accept a sine wave input. The autometer speedo needs a standard VR sine wave, so I couldn't feed it from the HP if I wanted to. Even if it would work, I don't want to tie up an output for something like that.
     
    #1535
  16. kbscobravert

    kbscobravert New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2014
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    The Cherry GS100102 looks awfully a lot like the holley one. And at a third of the price too. I bought two shipped for around $105.

    Well, if the Dominator will take either input, I am good then. Not having to wire up another adapter is a bonus. Looks like I can branch my signal from the VSS and feed the ECU and the Autometer speedo.

    I found the knock sensor that Danny C is using that he recommends if you can't find the link.

     
    #1536
  17. RacEoHolic330

    RacEoHolic330 I like to dress like a pretty girl SN Certified Technician

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2003
    Messages:
    3,500
    Likes Received:
    696
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    Allentown, PA
    I'll have to check the Cherry sensor out as a spare. I have to see how long it is though. My turbo drain limits me on how long the sensor can be. The Holley unit is the perfect length.

    I'm going to try to get some updated pictures posted soon. The hatch glass was installed yesterday. It's looking more and more like an actual car now.
     
    #1537
    stangboy likes this.
  18. RacEoHolic330

    RacEoHolic330 I like to dress like a pretty girl SN Certified Technician

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2003
    Messages:
    3,500
    Likes Received:
    696
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    Allentown, PA
    Some pictures as promised. Nothing special here, but it's something to look at.

    Doors mounted and aligned. Still need to get the mirrors on and two more pieces of trim.
    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    I tightened down the rear bumper and made some brackets for the bottom portion to keep it from flopping around on the highway. There are three. One in the middle that attaches to the fuel pump bracket and two more on each side that attach to the crash bumper bracket.
    [​IMG]

    Hatch and glass are on. I still need to restore the glass trim pieces and get them on. I also need to give my tint guy a call sooner than later.
    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    I also made an oops and dropped the passenger side taillight. It chipped off the outside corner of the plastic. I did a small operation on it by filling in the missing broken piece and painting it with trim paint. Another part was glued back on. Can't even tell that anything happened to it!
    [​IMG]
     
    #1538
    stangboy and A5literMan like this.
  19. TOOLOW91

    TOOLOW91 Mustang Master

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 1999
    Messages:
    2,692
    Likes Received:
    795
    Trophy Points:
    144
    Location:
    S.I.NY
    Flawless . I have no other words for this bad boy !
     
    #1539
    stangboy likes this.
  20. RacEoHolic330

    RacEoHolic330 I like to dress like a pretty girl SN Certified Technician

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2003
    Messages:
    3,500
    Likes Received:
    696
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    Allentown, PA
    Thanks bud. I'm happy it looks like a car now.
     
    #1540
    TOOLOW91 and stangboy like this.

Share This Page