were' the oil

Discussion in 'SN95 4.6L Mustang Tech' started by c9obr6a, Nov 5, 2003.

  1. c9obr6a

    c9obr6a New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2003
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    michigan
    Here is the deal my low oil light came on (DOHC 96 Cobra) so I shut the car off pulled the dip stick and it read about 2 quarts low. Then I waited about 20 min to cool and it still read about the same. But the next day the oil was almost at the max mark and the light was not on! ANY IDEALS I want to put Vortech blower on and now I'am worried about low oil!!!

    pressure is perfect
     
    #1
  2. Aaron 4.6

    Founding Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2001
    Messages:
    2,696
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Georgia
    You put in too much oil because the heads are holding a LOT of oil when the motor is warm. If you had added one quart and allowed the motor to cool you would have probably been right in the sweet spot.
     
    #2
  3. c9obr6a

    c9obr6a New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2003
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    michigan
    I did't add any oil and did a oil change about 500 miles ago put in six quarts. How long will the heads hold the oil ?
     
    #3
  4. Aaron 4.6

    Founding Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2001
    Messages:
    2,696
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Georgia
    Man my reading sucks today. I now see you did not add oil. It usually takes a half hour or so to really drain the heads, although something still sounds fishy. I wonder if your sender is getting a little touchy.

    Anyway, its normal to read a little low while the car is fully hot, so don't sweat it.
     
    #4
  5. c9obr6a

    c9obr6a New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2003
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    michigan
    thanks for the info., and what oil weight are you running?? 10w - 40 should i try something thinner
     
    #5
  6. sinisterblack98

    sinisterblack98 Sometimes I just lay on my garage floor and look u
    Founding Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2000
    Messages:
    967
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Motor City, MI
    YES, you need to run 5-30, the newer motors have much tighter clearances.
     
    #6
  7. 96cobrasux

    96cobrasux New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2004
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    In My Cobra
    I'm using 2.5-15 and it ROCKS! :nice:
     
    #7
  8. Str8Pimp'n

    Founding Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2002
    Messages:
    498
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Str8 outta Compton...
    The Check oil light probably came on because you either
    a) Parked the car on an incline and the oil was collecting inside the pan at an angle, tripping a code because the oil sender was not picking up anything. A normal occurrence on these cars.
    b) You shut off the engine and then restarted shortly thereafter. The oil was still top side in the block and tripped the light.
    Due to the small oil hole passages in the 4.6 block (9mm holes I think) Would recommend going back to the 5W-30 weight or if you want to compromise, go the the 10W-30
     
    #8
  9. RysRed96GT

    RysRed96GT I like it FURRY!!!
    Founding Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2001
    Messages:
    3,211
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Baltimore, MD
    never heard of that! who makes it?
     
    #9
  10. 96cobrasux

    96cobrasux New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2004
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    In My Cobra
    AmsOil ROCKS! :nice:
     
    #10

Share This Page