What's a good street gripping tire?

mrvax

Stay thirsty my friends
Founding Member
Nov 29, 1999
SN Moderator: Orlando, Fl.
I have expensive all-season radials on my car since I previously lived in NY. Now in Florida, will never see snow/ice. I will have to drive in the rain though.

My current tires spin and squeel at the slightest touch of the gas down here. Want more gripping. 245/45/17.

Nitto 555 seem like the tires are very short.

Any recommendations & links appreciated.
Thanks!

• Sponsors (?)

Welcome to sunny Florida.
I like my BFG KDW T/A's but there are other good options like goodyear F1's. I'm no tire expert but those were my top choices and I went BFG and like them. SOme good info and customer reviews of tires 1010tires.com/tires.asp
Good luck and have fun with the lovebugs. If you don't know yet, you will.

If your going to buy tires its worth buying wider rear wheels too. They cost a lot less than the tires. Goodyear GS-D3s and BFG KDW2 are very popular. Both can handle the rain.

i had bfg gforce sports in a 275/40 17 rear on stock wheels and was pulling 1.9 60's with them, they are a good bit cheaper than the KDWS or the f1's and would probably last a bit longer without sacrificing much traction. they are also just fine in the rain...

Nitto 555R's are about the best thing for driving in the rain if you want a drag radial... im using Sumitomo HTZ-R's in 315/35R17 right now and ive read that people feel safer with the nitto DR over the Sumi's

I have 315/35/17 Sumitumo's out back also and they are fine in the rain but when its dry and the foot hits the floor they dont grip much, even for their size. They dont grip much more than my old 245's did.

They do seem to corner ok though, but id buy them again for the price.

LOL. If you mean Florida's state bird, the Palmetto, I've already had 2 in my apartment. Live right on the water. You can make a small meal from one.