Whats the difference...

joey_corleone82

Mar 18, 2006
OK I know this might sound lame, but I'm new to this. I would like to know what a Cobra Mustang actually is...is this a specially modified Mustang that is built by Ford? If so, what is the difference between a Cobra and a regular GT?

I've also heard of Roush, and Saleen and such but don't know much about them...do they buy stock mustangs and supe them up? Can you bring your stock GT to them and have them make it a Roush or Saleen?

• Sponsors (?)

Cobras are basically factory hotrod versions of V6s if you get down to it. The 96+ got DOHC 4V engines that all produced over 300HP if im not mistaken. The 03-04 cobras recieved a supercharger and make 390HP.
GTs got a SOHC 2V 260HP engine from 96-04 and a 3V 300HP engine from 05-XX.
Its not just that, the cobras have better suspension and breaks and interior and appearance mods as well....and the 03-04s have 6 speed transmission.

The Mach 1 also recieved a DOHC engine, without a S/C and with different appearance mods....think of it as the cobras little brother. 310HP I believe.

Thats the just of it without getting too hard core.

Saleen/Roush are very expenice aftermarket companies that have a deal with Ford to let them take brand new stangs and add their own touches....but its quite pricy.
You MAY be able to have your GT turned into one, but noone will considered it real, unless it was bought new that way.

You MAY be able to have your GT turned into one, but noone will considered it real, unless it was bought new that way.

Don't let that stop you. There are a lot of Saleen and Roush clones running the streets. Some of them have so much aftermarket modifications on them that they are faster than some true Saleens and Roushes. Some people can't afford Roush/Saleen hefty price tags so they buy GTs and turn them into these special production stangs.