Mach 1 Will driveshaft for 98 Cobra fit 04 Mach 1?

Discussion in 'Special Production' started by 95 yellow 5 0, Mar 15, 2006.


  1. 95 yellow 5 0

    95 yellow 5 0 Founding Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2002
    Messages:
    638
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    CT
    posted in svt forum as well:
    i have a brand new aluminum d/s for my 98 cobra that i never installed. have a down payment on a mach right now so most likely will buy it. wondering if it would fit. I think i recall description of the d/s saying 96-04 mustangs. the transmission is the same so hopefully it will work whenever i decide to put the 4.10s in it.
  2. hotrodnut

    hotrodnut Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2004
    Messages:
    683
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    17
    Location:
    North Florida
    I'm pretty sure the length is ok but the front yoke will not fit the Mach's transmission. From what I understand you can swap out the yokes and it will work.
  3. 95 yellow 5 0

    95 yellow 5 0 Founding Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2002
    Messages:
    638
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    CT
    my cat back won't work right?
  4. 95 yellow 5 0

    95 yellow 5 0 Founding Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2002
    Messages:
    638
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    CT
    also, where would i get a yoke for a mach 1?? and how much $$?
  5. hotrodnut

    hotrodnut Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2004
    Messages:
    683
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    17
    Location:
    North Florida
    I'm pretty sure it will fit, your '98 is a stick axle right?

    On the driveshaft, I think I'm getting the years mixed up for the Cobra but I think it will fit without changing the yoke. Check the # on the shaft, if it is M-4602-J, it will work. That is the one I put in my Mach1.
  6. 95 yellow 5 0

    95 yellow 5 0 Founding Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2002
    Messages:
    638
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    CT
    yeah solid axle.. just like the mach 1.

    i'd definitly want to keep the X pipe and cat back if they would work...

    i only put a deposit down so i guess i've got 30 days to think about this and or swap the back to the stock exhaust.

Share This Page