Wiring a Tach

Discussion in '2.3L (N/A & Turbo) Tech' started by fastmonkeywheel, Aug 28, 2005.

  1. fastmonkeywheel

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2004
    Messages:
    202
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Spokane, WA
    I'm putting a 2.3T into a 78 coupe and for the time being want to use the original tach. Being that I'm now using a TFI coil do I need to do anything special to run the coil wire to the tach or just splice the new coil wire into the old circuit?
     
    #1
  2. Red_LX

    Red_LX I’m not much help unless you’re looking for porn!
    Mod Dude Founding Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 1999
    Messages:
    10,718
    Showcase:
    2
    Albums:
    1
    Likes Received:
    39
    Trophy Points:
    89
    Location:
    Morgantown, WV...where couches meet their doom
    Man, I have no idea...I can't say I know much about the II's. I'd say your best bet would be to ask in the Mustang II forum, maybe somebody there that's swapped in an EFI engine can answer your question.
     
    #2
  3. fastmonkeywheel

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2004
    Messages:
    202
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Spokane, WA
    I'll do that, I normally try to avoid posting in multiple fourms but I guess this is an exception. It's duraspark II ignition, well that's what it had, and the triggered coil wire went to the tach, just like with the EEC-IV systems. I need to buy a chiltons for that II my (really) old Haynes manual is all beat up and the wiring schematics are aweful.

    thanks though.
     
    #3
  4. Red_LX

    Red_LX I’m not much help unless you’re looking for porn!
    Mod Dude Founding Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 1999
    Messages:
    10,718
    Showcase:
    2
    Albums:
    1
    Likes Received:
    39
    Trophy Points:
    89
    Location:
    Morgantown, WV...where couches meet their doom
    Well, if it was hooked up the same way I would think the factory tach would still work...but, I can't say that I know and I don't wanna tell you the wrong thing :shrug: sorry.
     
    #4
  5. fastmonkeywheel

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2004
    Messages:
    202
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Spokane, WA
    That's ok, my only concern is that the TFI coils are souposable higher current or voltage or something, I just don't want to fry my tach. I'll post what I find in the II fourm.
     
    #5

Share This Page