WOULD A 92-97 CROWN VIC ENGINE FIT INTO A 78 STANG ?

Discussion in '1974 - 1978 Mustang II Talk & Tech' started by pittsburghfan87, Apr 4, 2008.

1. pittsburghfan87

pittsburghfan87 New Member

i have a 302 for the stang, but want to put the crown vic engine in it until i can get enough to complete my 302 engine, which would be a few months, would it fit into there ?

i heard all i got to do is maybe new engine mounts, and change the way the exhaust pipes run so i can hook it up and i might have to do some cutting

it will be for probabily 7 or so months, so i can drive it daily, im a student and work part time, so its going to take me atleast the summer to get enough $ to fix up the 302, plus i got to get insurance for the car, and a tranny in it, and i got a crown vic in the drive just sittin with a good everything under the hood , just bad tranny

could a c4 fit with the 4.6 l crown vic engine no problem ?
  2. 3-0-II

3-0-II Member

You can put a 4.6L in there, but its going to be a lot more work than just waiting and sticking he 302 in when you're done

If its just for a temp motor until the 302 is in, I'd say forget it; its not worth it
  3. mean78

mean78 New Member

putting a 4.6 in a II is a job that people usually spend alot of time making special parts for everything. you also have to pull the ecm and everything that controls the EFI to the 4.6, it takes alot of work.

if i were you i would just get a little 302 from a junk yard and get it in there, then go and build your dream 302-331-347 or what ever you like.

and maybe even later in life take that 4.6 and build it up to be mean, then switch that
  4. itsaMustangtoo

itsaMustangtoo New Member