Yes I'm a Noob

Discussion in '2005 - 2009 Specific Tech' started by da0ku0ueki, Aug 7, 2007.

1. da0ku0ueki

da0ku0ueki New Member

I have been looking everywhere I can think of without an answer. I want to change the driving belt of my 07 Mustang GT to a timing chain. I have been drifting and will add more power to drift more. I don't know how much the engine can take but I will find out somehow. Any information you guys can give me would really help.

2. Mr_Q

Founding Member

Showcase:
    Albums:
  3. wbr351

wbr351 New Member

:shrug: Mr.Q, I'm with you. I think we may need an interpretor.:stick:

4. homebrewer

homebrewer Member

I can only assume that you want to swap the rubber belt that connects the crank to the cams with a chain..... If that is what you mean, I haven't heard of anyone attempting such a thing, for many reasons.

Don't be too concerned about it though... you'll have much larger problems with the engine before the timing belt becomes a concern. I'd be willing to bet that you'll punch a hole in the side of the block before the timing belt ever becomes a concern.

Not that I condone it, or am personally involved in "drifting" at all.... but even being stock, the S197 puts a good amount of power to the wheels. Most of those drifting competetion are just for show. You'd likely be better off modifying the suspension than adding power. Spinning the tires and making smoke is not an issue in this car. Keeping it sideways in a corner can be. Look more to the suspension than the motor. Not to say that more power is not always better.... but in your case, I don't think you'll really need that much more to compete.

5. Mr_Q

Founding Member

Showcase:
    Albums:
    I'm confused though. Our motors, as all the mod series motors, use chains. I haven't seen a belt since my turbo 4 TBird.

6. welchy

welchy Member

Ricers use belts. Drifting = Rice .

7. RhinoGT

RhinoGT Member

Mr. Q is right, all Mod motors use timing chains, not belts.

8. da0ku0ueki