1965 mustang restoration... please help.

ocfrd

Aug 4, 2006
i have a 65 mustang coupe im restoring, it is my first project car, it was primed and paited last year and now its reassembly. Not as easy as i imagined, but nothing has been. I have a few questions i need answering to, im not expecting to get them all but any but of advice can help. i havent learn how to post pictures but when i do ill add a few on. so heres the Q's

I have a standard 3 spd heater main underdash wire harness, how do i add the gt fog lamps? i have the stuff but i need to know where it attaches to the harness and where the circuit breaker goes.

My car came with deluxe interior factory, i had the deluxe doors, they were pretty nasty so i bought new repo ones, they dont have the courtesy light cut out, do i have to make it myself? ** Most importantly it seems no matter how hard ive tried i cant line the doors up properly, there is a big gap on the back side of the doors, the windows so the gap the most, im thinking it could be many of things, bad repos the are incorrect and the hinges, or im not doing it right maybe the window components are not lining up properly......

i have many more questions but i wont get ahead of myself, thanks for your time.

Collin

1965 289 Mustang GT conversion

Check out the restoration page leave some comments

users.adelphia.net/~fomoco1965

• Sponsors (?)

Do a search on fog lights and you will find some instructions I wrote up. You can also find some instructions written up (technical write up section) on CJ Pony Parts website. It's not hard, just take your time and do one thing at a time.

The door lining up will always be an issue on these old cars. You can adjust your door and your front fender to conpensate for the alignment. Look at your hinges etc to see if they need to be rebuilt and affect alignment.

I have no idea about the deluxe interior but chances are you do have to cut it.
Someone will answer that definitively.

Good luck and keep the faith...