1968 Front Subframe Replacement

MaNiaCaL

Jan 8, 2018
Hey Mustang People. I hope someone here can and will help me with a friends project. 1968 Coupe. Mostly a survivor. However it lived in Ohio.

The front sub frame is rusted through on both sides. We are working on this car almost every Friday night for about 3 hours. From what I can see I have to tear everything on the front of the car off. The fenders (inner and outer), suspension, engine etc.

I’m looking for an exploded view of the sub frame parts. His is rusted from the bumper all the way under the floor pans.

My level of experience: I owned and built a 69 Mustang almost 20 years ago. I am a Heavy Duty Truck Tech. I currently have a 73F100, and a few VW projects. I can mig and arc weld. Basic fabrication and machining skills. I own and know how to use a tape measure and level.

I believe that this is part of what I need, but it isn’t complete.
CJ Pony Parts.

I’ll get him to order a NPD catalog this week in hopes I can find something there. I’m still in research stage (you tube, google).

Another concern I have is removing the old subframe under the car without burning through the pans. If anyone has done this job, please post some tips or PM me. Switching it to a Mustang 2 is out of the question. Bolting on tubular isn’t gonna happen. Wanna stay original.

I’ll try posting a few crappy cell pics I have. I do have a YouTube channel of my own, so I’ll post some of the car there (link in this thread) once I come out of the editing room with it.

The car now lives in Texas. So hopefully this will be the only time I have to fix the rust.
Thanks in Advance

Attachments

• F52B5DD3-1A14-4466-85ED-2F969F7C0E56.jpeg
    F52B5DD3-1A14-4466-85ED-2F969F7C0E56.jpeg
    548.7 KB · Views: 516
  • 5D37F69D-9A01-4AC2-820B-3C7BBCB92CC0.jpeg
    5D37F69D-9A01-4AC2-820B-3C7BBCB92CC0.jpeg
    314.8 KB · Views: 379
  • Sponsors (?)