1973 Mustang help, no start

dsmGST91

Jun 13, 2005
Latham NY
Hey guys, I'm new to Mustangs. I recently purchased a 1973 convertible from a guy who had it sitting on his lawn for a couple years. Every day I drove by his house, and one day I decided to ring his doorbell and ask if he wanted to sell it. I got it for 3 grand. Basically, it needs a restoration. Anyways, it originally started life with a 351, as the sticker tells me, but somewhere along the line a 302 was dropped in. I've been running it almost every day since I got it, and so far it started right up every single time. Today however, when I went in the garage to start it, it would not start. It's also blowing a ton of blue smoke, even though its not running. I'm guessing its flooded? I dont see how it could get flooded by just sitting for a few days. Also, this weekend before I went away I completely gutted the interior, dash and all. Maybe something is shorted out that is necessary for the engine to run? One last thing, its about 95 degrees out now, and it has sat in the garage all day long, so its pretty hot in there. If you've read this far, I really appreciate it and any answers would be great.

• Sponsors (?)

Yeah, I havnt actully checked because It is catching for a second, then it just dies. Yes, it did smoke when I bought it, but only a tiny bit, and went away after a few seconds. I'm actully pretty sure its flooded, because I pulled a plug and it was black, wet, and reeked of gas. These plugs are about a week old. So now my question is this, how do I start a flooded engine? Sorry for the newb type questions, I'm not too familiar with older cars at all.

all you can do with a flooded motor is let it sit for a while until the gas evaporates. usually if you are blowing blue smoke that is oil. gas is usually white smoke. if it seems to catch and then not check your points and plug connections. older engines are just like newer engines, except easier. not as much stuff to go wrong.