1985 wiring harness help

philcore3

Dirt-Old 20+Year Member
Aug 20, 2004
Hi all. I am working on a 1985 carbureted 5.0 and have a wiring question. I tore the engine down and have been slowly cleaning and replacing parts. My last dilemma is the wiring harness. I looked online for a plug and play harness but could not find one. I saw some other guys suggest buying the connectors piece by piece and doing the wiring myself. First off, is there a wiring harness that someone sells to make this simple? And if not and I have to DIY, how do I go about finding the connectors and the wiring schematics and how do i make this a step by step approach so I can do it properly. I'm a novice so this is all new territory for me. Thanks!

• Sponsors (?)

1985 is a one year only harness. Many of the connectors were changed for 1986.

Unfortunately you will have to try and source one used unless you want to go with a standalone type harness from painless or Ron Francis wiring

Is it the engine wiring harness you are replacing?? Do you still have the original one that came on the car??

I am going to build a harness for my 83 after I get the engine reinstalled..... My dash and heater box are out and will not get reinstalled until after I have redone the engine wiring harness and figured out what I am going to remove of the Smog devices and wiring.....
I gave up trying to find the correct connectors for the harnesses so I am going to use weatherpack connectors to build all new... Better connectors from what I can see..
Why I asked about your original harness is I am going to lay mine on the engine and replace, trace, and redo mine one at a time ( I am a simple man) then tape it up and maybe sleeve it....
There are some new connectors offered by suppliers,,, Low pressure switch connector , AC compressor connector, heater/AC blower resistor....All of these seem to be bad on my car, so these will make it easier to repair......

Last edited: