2004 3.8l Intake Machining Inquiry

NoisyNewEdge

Sep 24, 2018
Minnesota
Hey Everyone,

Several questions about the 3.8/3.9l intakes

I pulled a lower and upper intake from a 3.8l from a junkyard to try and gasket match them for fun. Inside and out they were caked in oil and dirt, so I cleaned them up using oven cleaner, with decent results. I brought the intakes to a machine shop to have them hot tanked and resurfaced. I've never had anything hot tanked before and had no idea what to expect, but I was surprised with what I got back. The lower intake still had decent spots of oil on the IMRC butterflies, loose dirt near the bolt holes, and crusty white build up in the coolant passages. Should I expect there to still be such residue after being in the hot tank? Like I said, I have no prior experience with having parts like this cleaned, but there is a part of me that doubts the lower intake got tanked at all.

20180924_161756.jpg 20180924_161742.jpg 20180924_161409.jpg

The upper had less issues, although it is covered in a chalky substance. Any suggestions on how to remove it? A wire brush takes it off pretty well but if there's an easier way to do it, I'm all ears.

20180924_160110.jpg

Also, I've asked a couple machine shops about boring out the throttle body opening in the intake to 65mm. The issue is that the intake is very difficult/impossible to mount onto any machine to be able to get at the opening. Has anyone had theirs bored before? How can I set it up so that it's machinable? Will taking it out to 65mm be cutting it close or interfere with the IAC passage? Do I just go to town on it with a burr?

20180924_160115.jpg

My final question is about gasket sealing. The lower intake had some pitting around the coolant tunnel holes. Will I have issues with blowing a gasket if I try to use this intake still?

20180924_161742.jpg

Any suggestions would be great, thank you!

• Sponsors (?)