2006 mustang GT 5.3l with cobra 4v Heads

• Sponsors (?)

Yes you can, but my god that’s expensive!! You’ll be in that engine set up 7-9k depending on what you’ll use for the heads/cams/valves, timing components, and timing cover with accessories!! Not including if you wanted to turbo or supercharge it!! For that money just buy a complete gt500 engine From supercharger to oil pan or a termi engine turn key swap kit with complete engine, trans, wiring, ecm, instrument cluster, drive shaft, k member and trans member. I used to see them for around 9-12k depending on what superchargers and upgrades they had.

If you wanted to use the 5.3 striker it says on their site it’ll fit 2,3,4 valve heads, you might just need to modify the motor mounts on certain years.

Reactions: 1 user
Thanks for the response! See that’s the thing. I wanted to do the cobra 4.6 swap but I wasn’t sure if it would fit in a S197! If so I saw a whole engine, trans, steering wheel and ecu for 7k on eBay. I’m a novice mechanic but I am extremely good at following directions. I will follow the ford repair manual for as much of the swap as I can. My next option was to buy a 4.6 motor from the junkyard and the 5.3l stroker, install it myself and top it off with a department of boost supercharger. This way if I mess up.. well it’s on a motor outside of the vehicle. Waste of money kind of but it’s security and I love doing things myself.

What car do you have? Year and model, remember s197’s can come with a 5.4 sohc so I’m sure a 4.6 sohc would fit with plenty of room to spare. But ultimately you gotta ask yourself what is your hp goal? A stock 4.6 3v can handle up to 450rwhp. 4.6 3v also has the cheapest best sounding camshafts you can buy, and the 05-06 mustang gt’s have the lightest engines because the hey are all aluminum. And the 4.6 3v has the coolest Eddlebrock supercharger I’ve ever seen! But I need to know what you have and what your goal is