2011 vs 2012 Convertible GT

mikemix

Sep 9, 2011
OK, I am a noob for sure, I really want a new Vert 5.0. Were there any big differences between the 12 and 11 ? Should I try to get a better deal on the 11 or go for the 12.. is it worth it?

Also, just doing my own research I have found not many dealers have what I am looking for as far as inventory. So, I assume I have to have a dealer special order?

Are dealers selling at close to invoice ?

Any advice would be appreciated.

Mike

• Sponsors (?)

Yes to the body style and engine question.

The '12 has programmable garage door opener, a rear backup sensor option and user selectable power steering.

If those things aren't important to you then you can probably get a good deal on an '11 if you find one that has what you want.

As far as ordering and price go... if you're going to special order the car I would recommend using Ford's X-plan. If your employer doesn't offer it, you can join the Mustang Club of America for $50 for and get X-plan through them. X-plan pricing is Invoice - 0.4% and probably most importantly it limits dealer fees to $100.

I used X-plan to buy my car and it just couldn't have been easier. There is no haggling (unless you are negotiating a trade), no fuss, just a fair price on a great car.

If you decide to order a car you want to make sure that your dealer actually has an unused Mustang allocation and that you aren't ordering any options that could hold up the build. For instance, Lava Red is no longer order-able and I'm not sure of the current status but in early summer cars with the EP were getting delayed due to NAV manufacturing issues after the earthquake/tsunami in Japan. I have also see people get mad because it's taken them 3+ months to get a car after they ordered but it was all because the dealer didn't have the allocation.

What are you looking at getting?