2012 vs. 2013 Mustang GT

Douger

Mar 28, 2012
Hey all, I am new to Stagnet but have been around Fords all my life and currently have a 2004 SVT Lightning. I am looking to get into a new Mustang GT and wanted to hear everyone's opinions on 2012 vs. 2013.

A dealer by me has a 2012 GT Premium with optional 19" wheels and that is it for options. They have it marked down to 30k and change so it seems like a fairly decent deal (MSRP = 36k. The one thing I wanted to have was the brembo kit and potentially the "GT track package" available for the 2013 but not sure if it is worth it at this point in time. I know that I could obviously outfit an aftermarket brake kit and always change gears. Just wanted to get some input from you guys...

• Sponsors (?)

The changes between those two years seem pretty minimal. If it was me, I'd get the deal on the '12 and have some extra money to do a few tweaks myself. That being said, the bonus of the factory items is the warranty that goes with it.

Ultimately it comes down to what's comfortable for you.

Yeah, I think I might deal on the '12 then. And I am definitely not a fan of the green.

One item I am still hung up on is the leather vs. cloth...does anyone with a cloth interior wish they would have gone with leather or vice versa?

When I went to trade in my leather clad Cobra for my cloth stitched GT I didn't twice about it. Leather looks nice when it's new, but unless you take really good care of it, it starts looking busted quick.

Yeah, I think I might deal on the '12 then. And I am definitely not a fan of the green.

One item I am still hung up on is the leather vs. cloth...does anyone with a cloth interior wish they would have gone with leather or vice versa?

Personally, I'd try to get a deal on a 2012. Not just to save the money, but I don't really like the facelift they did to the 2013s. Just a personal preference there.