Electrical 2014 V6 Dash/software/electronics Glitch

rgrimm13

Nov 1, 2013
Yulee, FL
I’m new to StangNet – my intro here:
http://www.stangnet.com/mustang-forums/threads/new-member-to-stangnet.872901/

I have a new (only 1200 miles) 2014 V6 Premium Convertible with NAV.

We were returning from trip to Orlando on I-4 and got stuck in a 5 mile backup do to an accident. It took us about 45 minutes at 5 mph to get past the accident.

We had just started to get back up to speed (70 mph) when the center dash display went crazy. The 3 ICONS below the center display came on (see photo below) and the display itself had a red frame and in the frame in errors in text would display – like 0 miles to empty and battery voltage at 0. The car continued to run okay (engine) but the AC shut done (compressor) but the little LED on the AC button remained lit.

I was in the left lane in a lot of traffic and began to attempt to move to the right lane to get off at the next exit with the thoughts that perhaps if I shut the car off and restarted it that it may clear the problem. After about 5 minutes, never made it to an exit, the dash returned to a normal display and the AC compressor started running.

So has anyone else experienced similar software/electronics issues while driving?

About a week ago the check engine ICON came on with not apparent reason. I took it to my local Ford dealer and they cleared the ICON but found no reason for it. I had also done a vehicle health report via SYNC and which indicated “Malfunction Indicator Lamp – Regulatory” perhaps these two problems are related. I have an appointment for Ford to check the Mustang again, but don’t have a good feeling that they will find anything that what indicate what happened on our trip back from Orlando.

-Russ

reference photo
dash2014.JPG

• Sponsors (?)