351w or 302 engine build

hows it goin all... i have a 351w from a 84 bronco thats perty much stock in the car now. i would like to leave it in while i take the time and build a nice motor on a budget of around 3000 to 5000$. the question is which motor should i build... for my budget wich one could i get the most power out of but still be a sturdy reliable motor. it would be going into a 197o mustang cp with a c6 automatic trany... would it be worth upgrading my transmission as well? i would like to swap it out to a stick but it would be to pricey so i was thinkin slap shifter... well do u all have any ideas or good articles... thanks all

• Sponsors (?)

I think you may be better off getting a crate motor for the money. Ford makes a 393 (I think 351W based). You could run a shift kit w/ a Z gate shifter in the C6. I have no experience w/ a C6 but I've heard they absorb too much torque, which makes me want to thing they are sturdy enough not to fool w/ clutches, just a shift kit and bands. The Z gate shifter is cheap but you can bank the crap out of them and the hold up.

BTW I did a build from the block up in 1992 (engine still runs great) and sunk 3-grand into it. It seemed like as soon as i got it in the car and runnin the market flooded w/ aluminum heads and crate motors. If I could do it over I7d go w/ a long block crate from FoMoCo. I've always heard good things about the FoMoCo engines. Oh yeah w/ a crate you get a guarantee, your own build you take it in the shorts if you make a mistake!! I know. I snapped a rod bolt during assembly due to over torquing so I had to get all of them replaced.