4:10's on the highway??

EPIK

Jul 3, 2004
LEFT COAST
I know this question has probably been asked hundreds of times on here, but I need a solid answer so I had to ask again. I really want to swap out my factory gears in my 03 mach 1 to 4.10's. The probem is I like to cruise at 75-80 mph on the highway. Basically my question is where exactly will my rpm's be cruising at 75 mph. I have been getting mixed answers ranging from 2500-3500. If its 2500-2800 I think I could take that, but 3500 is a bit high to me. My rear tires are 295/35/18. Plus I plan on doing a procharger in the next year or so. Am I better off going with 3.73's, or is that just a waste of money going from 3.55 to 3.73's? I wish i could ride in someones car that has 4.10's, then I would know exactly how its gonna be. Unfortunately none of my freinds own stangs. I know this sounds like a newbie question, but Im not a newbie. I just have never done gears in any of my stangs yet... Thanx

• Sponsors (?)

Ok. So I researched, and found a RPM calculator that said at 75 in 5th, with 4.10's I should be at about 2450, and at 85 I should be at about 2750. Does this sound right ? Sorry for asking this redundent question, but I dont have wads of $$$ so I like to only do mods once. I wouldnt want to get 4.10's and find out they were too much. Or get 3.73's and not feel much of a difference. Even though the car is not my daily driver, I still want to get out on the open road and cruise. And I do want to do a little bit of drag strip duty, but mostly just be able to terrorize cars on the streets. For now I just want to be able to take LS1's till i get my blower. Then it's C5 Z06's, terminators, and STI's ETC..

People have forgot you could always get 3.90's instead
if you don't like the high rpm's and bad MPG.
The rpm calculator is right on the money.
I had FRPP 4.10's in my old GT and I didn't like the high rpm's
on the highway either.I also got bad MPG and I was putting