4.6l Rebuild Help Q's

gavetgp

Jan 16, 2017
Hey everyone-
I am in need of some advice. I have a 04 Mustang GT and my oil filter blew up and my engine seized. At this point I am set on rebuilding my motor as I feel its the cheaper route than doing an engine swap (with a bigger better engine)plus im partial to my car so im pretty set on it staying the same block and just building out from there. Im one of those people that believe when you fix something it should preform better than it did the first time (more Hp/Tq, or better cooling, or more traction etc...). Im looking to get help with what parts to buy (rods, pistons, camshafts, heads, etc.) and info on bore sizes, and any other info you all could help me with such as suggested supporting parts like headers, etc. I myself am a backyard self taught mechanic and while i know that some parts will have to be resurfaced at a machine shop I am looking at doing as much of the work at home and myself as possible. I am not really concerned with cost for the parts as im willing to put the time and money into this build. over the last year she's been treated like crap and i need to pull her out of her funk...
i have over $3,000.00 in mods in her already that are all bolt on parts and am looking at going $6,000.00 more after rebuild (including a 6 speed swap).

Current mods: larger throttle body and air intake, tuner(replaced a chip), pulleys, coil packs, shocks (all) rear control arms, performance fuel pump, bushings, cobra brake package, slotted/drilled rotors, stage II clutch, Flywheel, & driveshaft.

Thanks.

• Sponsors (?)

reply to RaggedGT