5.9 Dakota???

Traitor5150

Jan 26, 2004
I know im probbaly gona get bashed for this but here it goes. My farther owns a Chrysler Jeep/Dodge dealership And i drive a 94 mustang gt vert HCI bolts ons's runs high mid to hi 13's. But is is not very practical for me I like to ride quads and im a firefighter so I need something that I can fit my gear plus strobes and id like a light bar. I have strobes in the mustang but the car is so low damn suv's cant see me. Plus my family has a mopar dealship and a chevy dealership so to them owning a for is being a traitor lol. We took in trade a nice extended cab dakota 5.9 has 59 k on it I can buy it for under 5 grand... What do you think anyone here know anything about these trucks i know they can be made really fast but how hard is it? Am I crazy??? :banana:

• Sponsors (?)

as long as you dident trade in the Mustang for the truck then I dont see why you would think that you would get any greif from us. It may be a Mustang sit but not everyone only drives Ford for every car/truck they own.

Is the Dak a R/T or is it the quad cab with the 5.9?

If it is the R/T there were some issues with towing and bed capacity, make sure your quad will work.

Mileage will get worse (I have an '03 with the 4.7l v8 and my mustang is my mileage car, heck it gets better mileage then my wifes jeep grand cherokee with the 4.7l v8).

As for making the 5.9 quick, they are like the old 4.6l 2v motors, they don't respond well to H/C/I from what I have seen. Best bang for yoru buck is a manual trans swap (chrysler auto's can be real PITAs) and a supercharger...

Jsut my opinion.

Now in addition to your stang I say it is a perfect vehicle, in place of I would look for a whatever is cheap enough to allow you to keep the stang...

Chris