Fox 87 GT rust repair

Hello I’m new to this forum, not really sure how to exactly start out my first post but I’m new to the car world. Still in high school, my first car is my 87 Foxbody gt ( 5 speed ) I picked it up for 750$ With only 33,882 original miles. not running, it had been sitting for 2 years. I’m the 3rd owner. I drained the gas tank, put on a new fuel filter, new plugs, msd coil, msd distributor cap and 9mm wires, then had the fuel pump changed and she fired right up. When I bought the car last winter it was about 5 degrees outside so I didn’t really check it over to well. Now it’s warm and I have the car home I now know that at the bottom of my strut towers are pretty damn rusty, got a good chunk of my frame rail too. The rest of the car is suprisingly rust free except for some small surface rust on the floor boards. I plan on taking pictures before and throught the build so anybody in my situation can see what I had to have done. I’ve never really worked on cars, have lots of experience racing, and building dirt bikes and quads but this is going to be my first project car, any tips and pointers would be really appreciated. Plan on getting my engine pulled and starting the restoration this winter.

Attachments

• 59CE0B4C-DD00-4DA9-B7C0-332412999614.jpeg
    59CE0B4C-DD00-4DA9-B7C0-332412999614.jpeg
    345.5 KB · Views: 499
Reactions: 1 users
  • Sponsors (?)

Are you doing the work yourself?
Post pics in this thread of the work as it's being done and the members will post witty comments and suggestions to help you along the way, congratulations and welcome to stangnet.

Yeah more pics, I’m not sure about the car having 33k, more than likely 133k, maybe 233k. Remember, 5 digit odo’s. Welcome, they are fun cars to mess with.

Last edited: