89 Gt No 3rd Brake Light Or High Beam

Demustangs

Apr 7, 2017
It's a 89 gt third brake light doesn't light up bulbs are good fuses are good also high beams dont work or illuminate high beam on the dash as well can any one give me a basic idea what is causing the problems I'm not an electrician or engineer here thanks

• Sponsors (?)

First order of advice: If you plan to keep this car, learn how to work on it.

If you are not mechanically inclined or aren't willing to lean, clean it up real pretty and sell it now. This car is 28 years old and wear, tear, weather and previous owners will have taken their toll. Unless you make over 50K a year, your budget won't stretch far enough to cover, family, home, and a older Mustang that you pay someone else to fix. This is a Mustang enthusiast vehicle and you either work on it and love it, or someone else works on it, drains your wallet and you grow to hate it.

If I haven't scared you off, the next order of business is to get a Chilton Mustang shop manual from you local auto parts store.
The next item, a 1989 Ford Mustang Electrical and Vacuum Troubleshooting Manual - see http://www.autorepairmanuals.biz/product/FPS1212189
OR
See Google for more sources... https://www.google.com/?gws_rd=ssl#q=fps-12121-89&spf=1494684942892

The 87-93 Mustang GT had a problem with the fog light wiring that caused problems with the headlights and the multifunction switch and wiring.

SEE Mustang GT Fog Light Fix to fix the foglight problem. The stock wiring isn't up to the job and is overheating. The headlight switch & turn/multifunction switch are affected by Ford's wiring problem. Sometimes it overheats so badly that the plastic shells of the wiring connectors start to melt. This will show you how to add a relay to the fog lights to relieve the overload on the headlight wiring.