SN95 94 Mustang Gt 5.0 Vibrating

DGunn

Apr 16, 2016
Hi, new to the forums, hoping to pick a few of your minds on an issue i'm having. I'm quite new to cars myself, hope i'm in the right place! My knowledge thus far has come from google haha

The issue with my 94 5.0 gt is vibrating/shaking through the shifter to the point it bucks my hand clean off the shifter over 4k rpms. It shakes/vibrates in all gears, and when idling. I have checked the ujoints in the driveshaft and the tranny mount thus far. I'm going to go have a look at the harmonic balancer now, any other suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

Little bit more about my car:
5 Speed Standard
302 Bored 0.40 Over
Trick Flow Heads
Trick Flow Upper and Lower Intake
BBK Cold Air Intake
BBK Shorty Headers

Thanx in advance guys!

• Sponsors (?)

When I got my fox it was pretty busted up. It vibrated a ton and I fixed a few things and each thing helped a little more until I finally don't have much of an issue unless I'm going over 80 mph now.
The things that I replaced/fixed are:
Motor mounts
Transmission mount
Harmonic balancer
bushing that sits inside the shifter. You take the shifter off and theres a little plastic piece that the ball of the shifter sits in. Mine was cracked.
My pinion angle was way off and crooked but that might not be your issue.

I bought my vert for a steal because the PO couldn't figure out a vibration issue. He went through mounts and the harmonic balancer...fuel injectors....plugs...wires...and distributor. I bought it and in 30 mins. it was fixed....the plastic fan had cracked...felt like it had solid motor mounts. If I were you I'd take the belt off, start the car, and see if the vibration goes away.

Well I ordered a harmonic balancer Monday, so today should be in next week. I'm getting the car jacked back up tonight to have a look at the tranny mount and then figure it out what the motor mounts look like haha