Fuel 99 Cobra Svt Cranks Fine But Wont Start

Spiderwolf

Jan 22, 2012
I have a 99 Cobra SVT. The car was running fine. Pulled it in garage and it sat for a few weeks. Went to start it, it just cranks but wont start. I have no fuel View attachment 142993 pressure at the rail (used a pressure gauge) and there is no sound of pump running when the key is turned on. I checked the fuel pump View attachment 142994 fuse under the hood and its good. I also checked the inertia switch in the trunk. Its got to be some kind of relay or the fuel pump, but Im not sure what my next step would be.

Is there a relay I need to check? Or, do I need to check for power at the pump. If so, how do I go about doing it. I was a mechanic for 20 years but got out of the business in the late 80`s and never really messed around with fuel injection too much as it just was not to popular at the time. But Im pretty handy with a wrench and a test light so if someone could give me some direction on what to check out I would appreciate it. Thanks

• Sponsors (?)

First, have you looked at all of the fuses?

http://www.allfordmustangs.com/foru...r-swap-wont-fire-please-help.html#post2669271

Test for +12 volts at the trunk IFS switch with the key on. If no voltage, the problem is a blown fuse, bad CCRM, bad ignition switch, or wiring fault.

If there is voltage, the problem needs more research. Possible bad FPDM, fuel pump, PCM problem or wiring fault.

A full set of manuals may go a long way to help you to understand fuel injecting. If interested in getting a set for yourself I maybe able to help. PM if interested.

Crank with no start check list;
http://www.allfordmustangs.com/forums/4-6l-tech/336452-1997-mustang-wont-ignite.html#2984838

The only fuse found labeled fuel pump was under the hood. I checked it and its good. If there are other fuel pump fuses I dont know where they would be.