All kinds of clutch issues. Help!

JasinC19

What hole is this!?!
Jun 7, 2011
I finally got the engine in and tried to install trans. Couldn't get it in that last 1/4". Did some research and someone said to try stepping on the clutch a couple of times. So I got under the car and hooked up the clutch cable and could not budge the clutch fork. (with the clutch pedal)

So I remember back when I was installing my Centerforce Dual Friction clutch kit. It's my first time so I was really taking my time.

I installed a new pilot bearing. (Flush with crank)
I installed new Ford Racing Steel Flywheel
I installed clutch disc using alignment tool. (99% sure flywheel side is on the flywheel as I checked a billion times)
I installed pressure plate on top of clutch disc.
^^^ Now here is the interesting part that I remember. The pressure plate did not easily mate with the flywheel. In other words, it wouldn't contact the flywheel until I tightened the pressure plate bolts.

Then after that the clutch disc would not spin. So the pressure plate was pinching the clutch disc to the flywheel. Alignment tool went in & out no problems.

Bellhousing went on:
Installed clutch fork
Installed TOB ("fat" side towards pressure plate)
Installed bellhousing

So my questions are:
Is the pressure plate supposed to pinch the clutch disc to the flywheel so that i can't spin it?
How much pressure does it take to work the clutch fork by hand? Like if I were to use a pry bar or something?

It's been a real drag, especially since I may have to pull the engine back out...

Thanks for any help
Jason

• Sponsors (?)