Anyone have a write-up on replacing a waterpump?

• Sponsors (?)

I don't have a writeup, but I'm new to the mustang engines (was a Jeep man in a former life :D) and I was able to do my h20 pump with little problems.

I'd say with a haynes/chiltons in hand it is a very simple job with no special tools required.

From what I can remember off the top of my head:
-Drain your coolant (this is a good time to flush your radiator)- remove the lower hose from the radiator (drivers side). Disconnect and remove all hoses to the pump (makes it easier with them out of the way, I find)- replace those that need replacing.
-Loosen the bolts on the water pump pulley BEFORE you remove the s-belt, then remove the belt and pulley.
-The water pump has a s*** load of bolts holding it down- refer to the new one to locate them all.
-There is one bolt you may think you need to remove the vibration damper to to get to- you do not! Just remove the pulley (you can use a socket on the main crank bolt to break the pulley bolts loose). You'll know which one I mean when you can't find it at first :rlaugh:
-Once you have the water pump out, remove the elbow on the intake and replace your thermostat following the cleaning procedure below- also, make sure you get the gasket for the thermostat while you're at the parts store, for some damn reason they don't include it a lot of times with the actual thermostat and you end up having to run back out for it :bs:
-Clean the crap out the the mating surface. There is ABSOLUTELY NOTHING worse in this world than going through all this trouble only to find you have a leak after reassembly because of shoddy/lazy cleaning.
-Clean it again, use some carb cleaner or similar to really clean it, then some alcohol and a clean cloth to get all the cleaner/oil/remaining residue off.

Finally, as they say, reassembly is the reverse of removal :D