auto cross questions and tips

deadlast

Mar 30, 2005
Belmont, MA
i searched around on here for a while, but still had a few questions. What kind of tires are best? I would only autox 5-6 times a year, and it's my DD. i have never done it before, and was wondering how my setup is now? Im only 17, so im not looking to compete, i only want to go out and learn how to drive fast in a safe place. I figured autox courses would be a great place to learn my car better, because i am not as skilled as I would like to be. Also, to anyone in MA, wher do you normally go? any tips on getting started would be appreciated as well.

• Sponsors (?)

You are leaving some important questions unanswered.
Since it is your daily will you be using the same tires that you normally drive on?
What size wheels do you currently have (obviously at least 17's)?
What is your budget for tires?
How many miles would you like to get out of your tires?

With that said, get Falken Azeni RT-615s, BF Goodrich g-Force T/A KD's, or Kumho Ecsta MX's. Yokohama ES100's are decent if you want alittle more tread wear. If you have a spare set of wheels then get Kumho ECSTA V710's.

As far as your setup, I would sell those lowers and buy some tubular arms with a spherical bearing on the axle side (ie Pro3i, StangSuspension.com, MM). I would put the stock uppers back on with the different lowers. I would also get plain rotors next time around. Subframe connectors should be the first mod on any and every Mustang. Spend some money and go to a driving school. The biggest improvement someone can do it tighten the nut behind the wheel.