Auto to MANUAL swap. Parts list and step by step instructions.

Rickey_Bobby

Nov 8, 2006
Sarasota, FL
Due to all the PM's I'm getting about this, I decided to finally write this up. I do not have pix yet. Maybe if one of you auto guys has me do their swap I'll take time with taking pix:D

I did my swap and it was VERY easy. (Keep in mind I have a lot of automotive background) However, If you can turn a wrench, have common sense, and A nice COMPLETE set of tools, this shouldn't be too hard for you. And in the end, you will be far more confident working on your car. Total swap cost me $1450 with a used tranny and driveshaft. Price can range from $1,200 to $3,000 depending on what you buy and who you get it from. The most important thing is to make sure you have everything you need, and that it is the right part, before you start the project. You can sell your 4r70w for 300-700 bucks on ebay.
You will need:

Haynes manual!!!!

Beer and bandaids

-Flywheel HEY! READ THIS!!!!!! 4.6L engines may have 6 or 8 bolts to attach to the crankshaft. Check the engine code before ordering. Romeo built engines have 6 bolts and Windsor built engines have 8 bolts. All Cobra engines have 8 bolts. The 8th character in the VIN is (X) for Windsor engine plant or (W) for Romeo engine plant. LINK

-Clutch LINK

-longer bolts for the 5spd flywheel LINK

-5spd transmission wiring harness (dealer they will tell you it is $400 though. It's really only $70. Get it from a speed shop that can order ford parts. If you can't find one, Call Don at LINK)

-clutch/brake pedal set. LINK

-Clutch cable LINK

-Go ahead and get an aftermarket clutch quadrant and firewall adjuster. They're cheap, and make clutch adjustment an easy one person job. Brenspeed sells the cable, firewall adjuster, and quadrant in a kit.LINK

-5spd Driveshaft for your tranny (ebay is best if cant get it local)

-Tranny LINK

-shifter (get a nice aftermarket one. I have tri ax and like it after I did the "tall guy mod".)