Bad, Bad Day

67stangboy

Founding Member
Jan 6, 2002
Granite City
So, today sucks.

For the past couple months I've had some noise in one of the lifters. I decide its no big deal and figure I'll work on it this winter. Well then the motor decides it wants to have timing problems, if you set the timing to where it will start easily, it doesn't like to ideal once it's been running. So i put on my new fuel pump and fix the timing issues, and decided to have some one who knows much more than me listen to the lifter problem.

I start the car and he immediately walks around to the back, puts his hands over the exhaust pipes and tell me I have a dead cylinder. I just stood their stunned, I'm not a mechanical genius but I figured I could tell when a car isn't running on all 8. He starts pulling the spark plug wires one by one and we find that it's cylinder #6 thats not firing, he then says, close the hood and get in. So we drive a few blocks and he tells me that the dead cylinder is the least of the problems and the lifter isn't the only thing he hears, he said the lifter is masking another noise, he said the other noise sounds like either a broken piston skirt, clearance problems with a piston, or a wrist pin making noise.

So his suggestion is that i spend the winter tearing the motor down and checking everything as I go and then build it back up.

So I'm bummed out today, looks like I'll pull the motor next month and start taking it apart. Or buy a short block and start over new, just thought I'd post this here to get it all off my chest.

• Sponsors (?)

Well, the way I see it, it's all about the attitude you adopt. This can be a great opportunity to improve your engine and an awesome learning experience. You can clean up your engine bay and paint it if needed or do other projects that are easier with the engine out.