Electrical Bad ECM?

tca7291

I can see your wieners.
5 Year Member
Sep 1, 2011
Raleigh, NC
Hey fellas, I've been working on my buddies 1990 GT and I think his ecm is shot, but just wanted to check with y'all before I condemn it. It will start up, and will run fine for a minute or so, but will lean out and stall eventually. When it messes up the fuel pump relay, and the WOT A/C clutch cycle relay start tripping out pretty bad. They will start clicking on and off very fast and erratically. I checked the ecm power relay and it stays on as it should. Do any of you guys have any other suggestions, or am I more or less correct on saying that the ecm is fried? Thanks for any help!

• Sponsors (?)

I am by no means an expert, but when it comes to electrical, I have learned that good grounds mean everything.
Have you checked that all ground straps and cables, as well as the ground to the ECM box itself are clean and tight?
Just a thought before you go and drop a hundred dollar bill on an ECM.

Also, the A/C and fuel pump relays are tied into the TPS and the key switch.
2 other places you might check for bad wires.

Yes noobz, we have pulled codes several times to no avail, the computer doesn't throw any stored or in the KOEO test, and the poor pony won't run long enough to do a KOER test. Ratio, we haven't really gone through all the grounds yet, but that is a great idea, and it should be easy considering the car has no interior right now, and I did check all the wiring at the ignition switch. I don't know if this would make a difference, but it started acting up like this after sitting outside parked for about two years. Perhaps I should try to call jrichker in on this!

What I might try to do to eliminate the ignition switch and wiring from the equation is make yourself a couple temporary power and grounds directly to the EEC from the battery.

If it quits again, then you're reasonably certain that the EEC needs help. If it doesn't, you know you have a wiring problem.