Basic Brake Change

FoxyNate

Apr 16, 2021
Seattle
Hi all, mechanical newbie here with 89 GT with 4lug brakes (I think)

I am wondering what parts I need to fix my squishy no good brakes?
Not sure how to tell if just rotors or pads need changing too, and if that last sentence didn't make sense you can see why I'm having trouble figuring it out.

Also where is a good place to get the parts I need? Most info online is about swaps/upgrades, I just need basic maintenance.

Thank you!

• Sponsors (?)

Your description of "Squishy" to me means you have air in the system and it needs bled. It would'nt hurt to do a full brake inspection to see which parts need replaced.

Reactions: 1 user
Some advice for a young jedi I will give:
Get a Ford Assembly Manual, not a chilton or haynes. Googlefu it
Let me elaborate, without asking any questions first, my first guess would be a master cylinder problem.
That's not saying run right out a buy a master cylinder and slap it on, won't hurt but let's remember this is a thirty year old car so it would be smart to inspect the brake system as a whole. The manual will show pics and explain procedures, if you can change a tire you can do brake work with proper instructions, of course you youngsters may prefer digital media.
There are a lot of info on brakes here too but like you've found it's mostly upgrades which can be a good thing.
Oh, and Rockauto hangs out around here so get a membership or subscribe or whatever you call it and get the discounts with the ability to choose from multiple manufacturers.
You can use this thread to document your work and ask questions.

Last edited:
Some advice for a young jedi I will give:
Get a Ford Assembly Manual, not a chilton or haynes. Googlefu it

Is this what you are talking about?

That will help you for sure, now a good place I use for rotors,pads,shoes,and calipers is Amazon. The company on there is called Callahan brake parts.
They'll have everything you'll need .

• Useful